The Plan

norunningI realized today that I am, for the first time I can remember, looking at the “other side” of my training plan.

What the heck does that mean?

For the first time, when looking at a “training plan”, I feel like my base is above where the plan says I should be.  And I have NO FREAKIN’ IDEA what to do.

I find myself waking up every day, looking at my plan and (except for the long days) saying… “That’s IT?  That’s ALL?”

I don’t know… maybe I picked the wrong plan.  Maybe this is a good thing.  But SCHWEET BABY JEEZUS!  On a day in January in mid Missouri with highs in the 60s you are telling me I should only run 3 miles of hills or stairs?  GAH!

I know… I know…  Deep breath in…  and enjoy it now, before the crap weather comes back and you have to run 20+ miles in it.  Having experienced all 4 seasons on one run before, I get it.

But it does bring up a challenge… doesn’t it.  I’m not asking myself to stick with the training plan by desperately trying to actually MAKE the mileages.  I’m desperately trying to SLOW MY ROLL and not throw in tons of junk miles just because the weather is decent or I have an hour to kill because I actually CAN because I’m in decent shape for the first time… ever.

The bottom line is this proves NOTHING.  Other than I can’t follow directions.  It’s the same philosophy my dad tried to teach me back in the day… Just because you CAN… doesn’t mean you SHOULD.

Over training is a killer.  Especially at my… um.. ADVANCED… level of experience. *cough*

But I really don’t think age matters.  I have seen old farts and young guns alike totally derailed by “one more run” or “a few extra miles”.  People who are smart enough to make these plans (for the most part) carefully calculate the balance between “enough” and “too much”.  If you are actually going to FOLLOW a plan… frickin’ FOLLOW it.

Sounds easy.  Doesn’t it…

One Response to The Plan

  1. Kevin says:

    You have heard the sage advice I am sure: listen to your body, push it, but don’t overdo it. And question everything (in the plan). Overall keep having fun at it.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

