Stomach bug? …Ain’t nobody got time fo’ dat!

aint-nobody-got-time-for-that_w_raw-bcc-navyI don’t get sick very often.  In fact, I don’t remember getting anything more than a slight case of the sniffles last year.  In my 9 years at my current job I have had to cancel ONE class due to illness… and that, unfortunately, was last week.  OH, I’ve been sick and stayed home, but since I teach and the schools I go to have scheduled us MONTHS in advance sometimes, you pretty much have to drag me out of the classroom.

But, alas, I’m not invincible.  I caught a stomach bug last week that both laid me low and scared the hell out of me at the same time.  Sparing the gory details, let’s just say I was on the throne every hour on the hour for 4 straight days and suffered some internal bleeding.  Fortunately, this cleared up just MINUTES before my self imposed window closed.  If I had gone about another hour with this problem I would have gone to the ER.  Something I haven’t done in a VERY long time.

Even 4 days later I am still weak and shaky, and fighting occasional tummy trouble, but I’m fairly certain I will at least live.  Something that was briefly in doubt for a while.

However, my 8 mile run this morning was surprisingly faster than anticipated, even if it felt slow.  I’m sore, like I just started back running again after a 6 month hiatus.  I would have thought that 5 days off, given my current state of fitness (pretty darn good) would not have made much difference, but it seems tenuous at best sometimes.  The last mile this morning did have me scanning in front and behind trying to judge if I had enough time to jump off into the woods and take care of business or if I should just squeeze it.  I made it to the bathroom… er… finish line.  Barely.  I’m jealous of everyone who claims to have had this bug and state that it only lasted a couple of days and was pretty mild.   ….bastards.

Regardless, I’m back at it.  Not much the worse for wear, but feeling a bit mentally older.  I hate it when my own mortality makes an appearance and “harshes my mellow”… dude.

I am supposed to run 16 on Saturday.  And then 10-12 on Sunday.  The weather is up for it.  Here is hoping I can be as well.  Time to put my behind in the past… as it were.  I’ve got some serious miles to pack on.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

