Staying in control

fit-just-go-runI’m still enjoying the euphoria associated with having a really good year.  And while celebrating my successes is a good thing (but hard for me to do), I found myself getting swept away in some over optimistic thinking recently.  While I do want to capitalize on the fact that I’m starting out 2015 in good shape (for me), and I want to build on that, I’m also trying to temper those thoughts with reality.

What I mean is, I was so excited about not starting the year at the bottom of the mountain in regards to fitness and having to run up… AGAIN, that I started making my schedule out for 2015… kinda blacked out… and when I woke up I had planned a road marathon, two trail marathons, a 50K and a 50 miler for myself.  That’s a tad optimistic.  Especially given the fact that I’ve only ever completed ONE marathon in a year, and I wouldn’t call that “successful”.  I survived, but was much the worse for it.  In fact, I was out for a year afterwards…

I had also only given myself about 2 1/2 months to ramp up for the first event on my schedule.

Yeah… umm…

No.

So I pulled my name from the lottery for that event (Double Chubb) and spent some time thinking about how to do this right.

What I “want” from this new era of fitness is longer distance and consistency.  After last year I’m all PR’d out.  Except for the marathon distance I met every goal I set.  And a PR for the marathon should be pretty easy since my last one was a 4:45.  I was 10 pounds heavier and cramped up the last 8 miles and walked all but the last half mile.

I’m kinda done with triathlons for a while.  I still love them, but I really want to simplify.  Later in the year I may switch back to do a little cross training, but my focus is simple.  I want to do a spring, off road marathon.  Then train for a 50K in the fall and use a late summer/early fall road marathon as a training run.  That’s it.  Two marathon distance races.and a 50K.

I may do other races, but they will not be the focus.  I may do triathlons, but only if they fit in my workout schedule.

I guess I like the feeling I have right now when I run.  Like I can control what distance I go or how fast I run.  I can, if I want to, push well down into the 7s and even upper 6 minute miles if I want to.  Or, like today at Rock Bridge, I can run for miles and miles at a 12 minute pace.  My only complaint about last year was that I always felt like I had to push every run, bike or swim.  It was all about “faster”.  While it was fun to see that improvement, it was stressful.

I am in control.  I don’t have to push my training speeds to achieve some magical time goal.  If I have any time goal at all it is for the road marathon and that is to get under 4 hours.  Or, just under a 9 minute mile.  Given I ran 7:42/mi at my last half marathon, I see this as very attainable.  Could I run faster than that?  Yes, I think so.  But I don’t WANT to.  I like where I’m at.  The only thing I need to do is just increase the miles.  Slowly and carefully.  Stopping for a while at longer distances of say 18 or 20 and running those distances a few times before moving on, to get used to them.  Like I said.  Control.

And, quite honestly, now that I am comfortable with triathlons, if things fall apart and I have to back off on my main goals this year, triathlons are a great “plan B”.  No offense intended to my triathlon friends, please.  That’s not me.  But we are all in this for our own goals, and right now… mine are along a different path.  Who knows, after that first 20 mile run I may come crawling back to the pool and bike and never go back again.  But I won’t know until I try… Right?

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

