Talk me off the ledge (again)… please.

I am not a mileage junkie…

I’m way worse.  I’m a WANNABE mileage junkie.  And this time of year I get “Seasonal Junkie Disorder”.  That’s where I SAY all year long that mileage doesn’t matter… but then I panic in December and do something stupid like put in a fifty mile week just trying to achieve some nebulous, meaningless mileage goal.

And… here we go again.

crazyThis year is not as bad.  As of yesterday, I’m at 1197 miles for the year.  Considering most of the year I was training for triathlons and only running 3 days a week, 23 miles a week is fine.  I will hit 1200 on my 10 mile run tomorrow and be done with it… right?

*sigh*

See… I have this friend…  and he does this thing every year… called “The 12 Running Days of Christmas”.  I don’t want to say or curse his name… but his initials are Shawn Goertz.

If my mad math SKILLZ are correct, this is 78 miles in 12 days and 63 miles of that in the first week.

I’ve done this before… and it hurt.  A lot.  I don’t think I was in as good shape then as I am now… but it hurt.  I also know that if I’m serious about ramping up for ultra distances, mileage needs to stop scaring me.  You know… big girl panties and all that.

It will also put me at 1275 miles(ish) on the 25th.  You know… with one more week to run the last 25 miles to get to 1300.

I need therapy.

p.s. If anybody is doing this craziness as well and needs some company, please call me.  I’m available every day but Tuesday (until after 3).  I can only run about 7:45/mi for these distances at the fastest.  But I will GLEEFULLY run 10-15 minute miles if you let me run with you…

…please?

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

