Trying to go 7 for 7

I just don’t think I’ve ever had such a good year, physically.  Sure, I have had my nagging little sore spots and I have been tired a lot, but that is normal if you train hard enough.  But since I started working out again when I got to Columbia, I have not had a year that was, overall, as good as this one.  It truly has been amazing.

I’ve always said that I will never grace a podium or smell the fresh air at the pointy end of the pack.  And I’m perfectly fine with that.  This is about being fit and healthy and the vehicle I am riding to get there is endurance sports.  You can have your $10,000 bicycles and $1000 entry fees.  I went there for a while and didn’t like what I saw.  WAY too much pressure on myself, my finances and my mental well being.  Nope, I’m good where I’m at… finally.

In December of last year, I set a goal to finally change my evil ways for good.  It started with eating right and not drinking alcohol.  Then exercising regularly.  I gave myself until April to see where I was at, before I set race season goals.  I set seven total and I’m 6 for 6 so far, with one still outstanding.  This is what happens when you do it the right way:

Lose 40 pounds

I actually lost 50.  I started at 222 and my lowest was 172 during peak season.  I’m at 174 now.  I did it simply.  No alcohol.  Limited sugar.  Portion control.  No “diet” or fad foods.  No calorie counting or Juicing.  As I look back on it… It was easy.  I got hungry a few times… but that was it.  Yes, I even cheated on everything except for the alcohol… 🙂

Complete another half marathon

Once March rolled around and I saw my mileages going up and weight going down, I set a goal to do another half marathon and then immediately completed it in April.  Then I did 4 more races of half marathon distance or greater for the rest of the year.

Complete the Triple Challenge in Chicago

This challenge (3 triathlons in 2 days) was more about energy planning and race coordination that output.  The water was ROUGH, but I made it and didn’t really feel unsafe or uncomfortable.  The rides were AWESOME (not fast, just unique and beautiful), the runs were just runs.  The last one got hot.  But I never felt like I wouldn’t make it.  The only time I felt like I wouldn’t make it was simply trying to get from the finish line back to transition and then back to the start line for the next race.

Get under 48 minutes in a 10K

This was more a “hmmm… I’m running pretty good… I wonder if…” kind of a goal. I was feeling strong, a race popped up that was in the timeframe I was looking for, so I gave it a shot.  Ended up running a 46:43 on a HILLY course.  I may have to go after a sub 45 next year…

Get under 1:45 in a Half Marathon

After going for and getting my half marathon goal AND going under 1:50 for the first time, I smelled blood in the water.  I wanted 1:45.  Once the triathlon season was over and I could focus on running again, I went for it.  I came away with a PR of 1:43:17. I think, as a goal for next year (if I focused on it), I could get below 1:40.  I can’t believe I just said that…

Get under 22 minutes for a 5K

Oh… man.  This has been on my bucket list for years.  But one thing or another has always gotten in the way.  The speed work I did all summer had me wondering if maybe…

But I had stopped the speed work due to darkness and weather, so I just wasn’t sure.  I knew I needed to run 3 @ 6:58 to really nail it, but I’ve never run under 7 minute miles in a race…  I did know, however, that I was running MUCH faster race times than my training times were showing.  So, what the hell.  My old PR was a 22:15 and my first shot at it I ran a 21:05!  That :05 is going to eat at me though.  My second mile, for no apparent reason other than I must have lost concentration, was 7:24.  If I fix that… I can get under 21 minutes.  No. Freakin. WAY!  I have 3 more chances before the first of the year…

Don’t drink alcohol for 1 year

Honestly, I’m most proud of this one.  I decided on my birthday (December 19) last year, that the best gift I could give myself was to walk away from my beloved beer.  It was just counter to every one of my other goals (see above).  I have, thus far, survived St. Partrick’s Day, Memorial Day Weekend, July 4, 5 beer festivals, over a dozen new beer releases, a HUGE party in Chicago, Halloween, Thanksgiving and numerous other times, both good and bad, where a beer would have tasted REALLY good.  I have 18 more days until my birthday.  I can do this.

Some have asked if I will drink again.  Maybe someday.  I think my new rule will be: I will drink only that beer which is given freely at the finish line of a race longer than 13.1 miles.  Kinda like chasing a carrot…

But honestly, I like the way I feel so much better now…  I may pass on that rule most of the time as well… 🙂

I am already terrified about next year.  Just sayin’…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

