Bucket gazing

bucket-listI know I’ve gone back and forth over the years about having goals to shoot for and maintaining a healthy bucket list.  But it seems when I am against such things (in reviewing my own blog) is usually a symptom of a larger problem with me such as an injury or a bout with frustration, depression or self doubt.  I think, realistically, I (and this is a personal belief, not a generalization that we should ALL have goals) do need goals to shoot for.  It’s easy to say “I’m in it just for the training” but I’m not really wired that way.  If I don’t have something to shoot for… I kinda just stop shooting.  And that is the worst of all results for me.

My “bucket” contains my goals for life, the universe and everything… but mostly it’s just superficial “me” oriented, fitness goals.  I’ve really been lucky and gotten to do most of the stuff I always thought would be cool.  I am actually finding it hard to put more stuff “IN” the bucket as I get older.  Stuff that used to seem grand (world travel, owning my own coffeeshop, hiking the PCT) has now fallen into the “Bat shit crazy” list.  This is due in large part to the world changing as I have gotten older and in some part to my perceptions of reality changing (for better or worse).

This year though, that superficial bucket list has gotten smaller.  I have managed to check off several items and get myself back in to shape as well.  Getting under 1:45 in the half marathon was huge for me.  Going under 1:15 in a sprint triathlon was pretty cool too.  The kayak race, trail racing, big mileage goals (I just went over 1500 miles running this year)… a lot of fun stuff. I’m also less than 2 months from not drinking alcohol for a year.  This wasn’t necessarily a bucket list item, but it sure helped me get to some of my other goals.

I really only have one thing left to accomplish on my short term list.  I want to go under 22 minutes in a 5K.  This means running 6:58 pace or better.  I’ve run a 6:10 mile this year, but I don’t know if I could do that for 2 more miles.  it’s going to be close, but I’m gonna give it a shot.  I will have 3 potential chances, with the first one being on Thanksgiving Day.  Sure would make the turkey taste better…

Now, I have a super secret bucket list too.  I think we all do.  It contains the stuff we’re just not sure we are capable of… but REALLY wanna do anyway.  Identifying these items is easy.  They usually involve a statement that starts with “If I was in really good shape…” or “I wish I had the time to…”.

I will expose a few things on my list so you understand what I mean.  My conversations about next year have gone like this:

“If I was in really good shape, I would love to run a 50K (or more) next year.”

“I wish I had time to train for a full Ironman.”

For now, my sites are set on staying healthy and continuing to lose weight.  My reward/method is to train for and complete a marathon in less than 4 hours.  Past that, I’m not saying… 🙂

One Response to Bucket gazing

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Ha, it’s like a runner’s confessional! I have that 50K goal as well. I think that is what keeps us going. Awesome goals and congrats on the amazing accomplishments you made this year.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

