Double dose of Afraidium

OK… somebody slipped me a Mickey…

With all my talk about stretching out my mileages and how much I want to do an ultra next year, somebody laced my Gatorade with Afraidium and I have become decidedly chickenshit when it comes to actually SIGNING UP for one.  I’m really having a tough time pulling the trigger…

chickenrunner1I really have no excuse, either.  I am 50 pounds lighter this year.  I had a great season.  My times are coming down.  I feel great.  Even under WAY more challenging conditions I knocked 15 minutes off my time for the 25K trail race I just completed.  I may have even found my trail booze of choice in Tailwind.  I felt REALLY good on a 10 miler using it.

I even have a plan.  Do an early spring marathon (on or off road) and then a spring 50K or 50 miler depending on how much mileage I am able to get in.  So… What’s the problem?

I guess I still have really unpleasant memories of the last time I went for marathon distances.  That whole “I fell like I’ve been kicked in the jewels” feeling for A YEAR after the marathon… tends to linger and affect your decision making… just sayin’.

And, yes, I still feel it sometimes.  Especially after long runs.  I was hoping that being lighter would help.  But I’m not convinced.

The hard part is that you have to sign up so damn early, especially for road marathons.  I’m thinking about Little Rock in early March.  But by the time I’m sure I will be OK, the race is going to be $100 or more.  And Ultras are even worse because of the limited fields in most of them.  Berryman and others are already open.  But I have no idea if I have 50 miles in me.  And I won’t until I get up to marathon distance or more.

I guess I should just start stretching my mileages out and see what happens.  Then look for races later depending on how I feel…?  I know, I know… shut up and run.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

