Are we THERE yet?

Little_GirlsWith two and a half weeks left to go in the biggest loser competition with the local triathlon club, it’s time to take stock of what has happened and what to do about it.  For me, this has been very successful.  I have, thus far, lost about 35 pounds.  Moreover, I feel like if I keep the same routine, I can continue to lose weight until I hit my target weight of 165.  I hope to do this by the Chicago Triathlon in August.  Currently, I have about 15 pounds to lose.  Funny… at that point, for the first time in my life, I will have a BMI of what the government considers “normal”.  All this work just to be “normal”.  Currently, for the first time in several years, my BMI is what the government considers “overweight”.  Which is down from “obese”, where I have been living for the last 2 years.

I don’t give much credence to BMI as I think it is just one (and a blind one at that) measure of fitness.  It does not take into account things like muscle mass, bone density, etc.  I have a friend who played pro football as a running back and is now a powerlifter.  Dude is a ROCK.  You can see every muscle and vein.  According to the government, he is obese and has actually been turned down for life insurance.  Ludicrous.

Regardless, it’s just one measure.  And I don’t have the money to pay for displacement testing, etc.  So it is the free ones I go with.  It used to upset me.  Now I think it’s funny.  It really all depends on how I feel.  Currently, I feel good.  I’ll take that.

In an odd twist, I am actually concerned about appearing to lose TOO MUCH weight.  At least, according to the competition.

What I mean is, due to the day we weigh in on, I may have a problem getting an accurate weight.  See, I’m trying to get an accurate weight.  Hydration plays a big part of this.  It’s easy to lose a couple of pounds by just going out and running for an hour before you weigh in.  And it also depends on what you had to eat.  Lots of salt and you retain water/weight.  These aren’t biggest loser strategies, just reality.  However, what I don’t want to do, for the purposes of the competition, is lose too much weight in one week, because that is not sustainable.  I’m more concerned about NEXT weeks weigh in than this one.  And this is all because I’m running a half marathon on Saturday.

I’ve been really good so far this week with eating and exercise.  My goal is to lose 2 pounds this week.  That will officially put me at 179.  My fear is, with the half marathon on Saturday and a long trail run on Sunday, I could actually lose, or “appear” to lose 5 pounds or more.  Which would look great this week, but as I rehydrate normally, next week, even if I lose 2 more REAL pounds, could appear to be a GAIN of a pound or two, just because of hydration.

So I’m trying to lose weight properly, and not be affected by two long runs.  So, eat and drink “enough” but not too much, or especially too little…

Oh good grief… who gives a crap?  I mean… really?

Why am I worried about this?  If I’m off 10 pounds Sunday I will know 3 things.  First, I’m dehydrated.  Second, I will probably owe the biggest loser some money for pounds gained the next week.  Third, 10 POUNDS, that would put me close to 170!  I’ll take it as long as I can get it!!  Regardless, this kind of fluctuation is normal (within reason).

I have come too far to by just relaxing, eating right and exercising to get obsessed about all of this now.  Whether I win or lose the competition means little.  The bottom line is I will be 35 pounds (plus) lighter than when I started!  My knees don’t hurt.  I don’t huff and puff going up stairs.  I’m not drinking anymore.  I sleep better.  I’m faster.  I have more energy.

That, my friends, is the win I was looking for.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

