Why am I surprised?

rocket-surgeryLook… It doesn’t take a rocket surgeon (yes, I said that on purpose) to do the math on the inverse relationship between weight loss and speed gain.  Someone once quoted me something like 10 seconds per mile gained for every 5 pounds lost.  I have no idea if that is true or what the real stat is but if it’s anywhere close, I should be at about a 3 minute mile by the time I hit my target weight…  And yes, I know that this only goes so far and at some point, the only way to decrease your times is to improve your training.  I can’t wait to get to that point.

I read an article about runners knee which is very similar to what I am, or at least was, experiencing last year.  It stated that ways to help are to strengthen your quads, hammies and glutes.  At first I called bullshit on this but as I read more, it made sense.  And if you think about it, what’s the first thing you do when you feel a twinge in your knees (or anything else)?  If you are sane, you back off a bit.  Most of us are not.  But if you are, you back off.  But runners knee takes a while to go away so you lose strength in those big muscles.  And if you are unfortunate enough to be like me and get depressed and eat/drink yourself into a stupor, you gain weight.  Which, surprisingly enough, is NOT good for your knees…

So one of the things I have been doing is working on leg strength.  I have been doing a lot of fin work in the pool and have started doing spin classes.  And even after just two weeks I can feel a huge difference.  I can go up and down stairs like a gazelle.  I’m able to move and cut and lift my feet easier on the offroad trails I run.  And today, I ran a relatively hilly route with no pain and nowhere near as much fatigue on the ups.

You ever have one of those experiences that should NOT surprise you at all… That totally STUNS you?  Yeah… That.

I was (briefly) totally amazed at my performance this morning.  7 miles at a minute per mile faster than usual???  WHAT??  REALLY?

Yes, moron… Really.

The extra exercise targeting my legs PLUS the nearly 20 pounds I have lost since December 11 IS making a difference.  This should shock no one…  Especially me.

It is, however, encouraging.  I am going the right direction.  Now the hard part will be to stay focused.  My formula is working.  The Biggest Loser motivation is working.  Not drinking… is WORKING.

I do also know, having done this before (unfortunately), that the first week of a weight loss plan usually yields some of the biggest losses.  After that it gets tougher and tougher.  Some say the last 5 pounds to your goal weight may take as long as the first 30.  This wouldn’t surprise me.  I just have to remind myself that it will happen if I continue to believe in my plan.

I still have some tweaks to make.  I think I’ve got my portion sizes about right, but the timing of my meals needs to be better.  For instance, this morning I didn’t eat before my run.  I was OK during the run but by the time I got home I was grumpy as hell and had a headache.  I still need to drink more water as well.  I have some travel coming up and the challenge is always to stay away from easy meals and find some way to exercise in the hotel.

I also need to sign up for the ROC race.  That’s next on my list.  But for now I will bask in the glow of being able to get into my jeans again…  I was DAYS away from having to buy bigger sizes.  I never want to be in that place again…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

