Seeing my shoes again…

As I stand and stare out at 2014 the first big challenge I have is losing weight.  I have a lot to lose.  After a lot of thought, I signed up for our local triathlon club’s “Biggest Loser” competition.  I was kind of torn between doing it (and admitting publicly that 1.) I’m fat, and 2.) I need help) and just going at it on my own.  I think what drove me to actually sign up was the camaraderie.  The promise of commiseration.  The ability to actually get back into the group again.

I bailed on just about everything last year.  I abandoned exercise, goals, fitness and a lot of other things.  Inadvertently, I also lost touch with one of the most important things to me about all of this.  The people.  Yes, your fitness journey is a very personal one.  Your goals and dreams are your own and never the exact same as anyone else.  But the people you meet along the way are some of the most important reasons to keep going.

A conversation with one of these people let me know just how completely I had disappeared.  I saw her at the race last weekend (she is not a techy person so she is not on Facebook, etc.).  She said she heard I had moved away.  Wow.  I guess I kind of did.  I just never left the house.

Anyway, back to BL and 2014.  Even though I’m kind of a purist about my exercise types (I believe if you are going to a spin class, you should SPIN and not jump off every 20 minutes for situps or planks), I’m looking forward to any and all the craziness the next 3 months will bring.  I’m up for almost anything as long as it furthers my fitness goals and doesn’t hurt (knees).  I’m looking forward to being hungry, two a day workouts and not being able to lift my arms after a workout.  Bring it.

I really don’t care about the “competition” part of the contest.  If I cut back portions, don’t drink and exercise like crazy I will be in the hunt because I’m bringing more pounds per inch than anybody in the contest… 🙂  But what this is really about for me more than anything is getting back into it.  Having fun again and being a part of the club and the community.

So.  My first workout of this day will be to put on every stitch of clothing I own and go out into the -30 (yes, he said MINUS THIRTY) windchills to shovel off the driveway (AGAIN), so I can get out and go to my second workout.  A swim.  Yup.  This will be the coldest weather I have ever swam in…  Granted, I’ll be INSIDE, in a nice 76 degree pool… but I will leave that part off when I brag about it.

One Response to Seeing my shoes again…

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Good for you. You can do it!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

