Better than expected…

I’m not going to lie.  I was pleasantly surprised by my result yesterday in the Eve Fest 5K.  As slow as my times have been since I started running again, I was certain I would not have a mile under 9 minutes and would be lucky to break 28 minutes.  Now granted, the course was short (3.04) but my time of 24:30 was a pretty big shocker.  And even though it’s 2 minutes off my PR for the distance, I’m not looking at it that way.  This is a positive.  The hill is not as steep as I thought it was.  That’s a good thing.  As for the details, I will bore you with them since there are only 3.  Mile one was 7:58 and felt really good.  Mile two was 8:31 and I have no idea why I slowed down because it didn’t feel like I did.  I think it was a concentration thing.  Mile 3 was a 7:53 and I actually had just a tiny spark of a kick at the end.  Not enough to brag about… but there was something.  I have no idea of my placement and don’t really care.

See, this is why I race.  It has nothing to do with beating anybody.  It gives me a chance to test myself and push myself like nothing else can.  Even when I played baseball, I was always a better game player than I was a practicer.  Not because I slacked off in practice, but because I was working on a skill or a situation, not the whole game.  It’s the same with triathlons/running/etc. now.  When I “train” I’m always working on something.  Fitness, form, technique, strategy… something.  But when I get to the starting line, I can just take it up to as close to redline as possible for as long as possible and test myself.

I didn’t feel much different during the race yesterday than I do during a training run.  I was breathing a little harder but that was all.  I just focused on breathing as hard as I could for as long as I could and pushed myself to keep going.  I had two sub 8 minute (barely) miles.  I haven’t done that in over a year.  Yes, I was breathing hard at the end but recovered fast enough to go out and run another 3 miles before I left.

So next up is a trail race.  I have 24 days to train.  With several opportunities for snow and very cold weather in the next few weeks, that should be a challenge.  But that in itself is a big change in thinking for me.  Two months ago bad weather would have been a deterrent, now it’s just another challenge.

And with that, I leave you with the end of 2013…

Miles

Miles (Photo credit: matley0)

One Response to Better than expected…

  1. Great job Bob! You put in the work and it’s paying off. Be Proud!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

