Whoa Hoss, ease up a bit.

It’s been so long since I felt good when running.  But now it seems there is light at the end of the tunnel.  My knees still hurt but that’s more because I’m 30 pounds overweight than anything else.  The hard part is not getting too excited and running myself to death… Kind of “too much of a good thing”.  See, I looked up from the muddy, sloppy, icy, cold trail to realize that I hadn’t done anything for the last 6 days except run.  Only to the tune of 31.5 miles, but still that’s a HUGE week for me.  I even added 4 more miles of offroading on Gans Creek today.  So my weekly total was 35 ish miles.

This was completely unintentional and actually about 10 more miles than I probably should have run.  I didn’t mean to.  I was just excited because I FELT LIKE RUNNING.  This is the first time in 2013 I can say that.  Too bad 2013 is over in 2 days…

No matter.  It was fun while it lasted but I know I need to be a little kinder to my legs while I get the weight off.  Tomorrow I go to the pool.  I’m going to “try” for 1500 yards.  It may take me all day, but I’m going to try.  I’m just going to use a pull buoy and swim.  No fins.  Gonna try to give my legs a break.

I did sign up (and pay!) for my first, last, and only race of 2013.  It’s called Eve Fest.  It’s a 5K  on New Year’s Eve afternoon and it will most likely be my slowest 5K ever.  I’m just hoping to be under 30 minutes.

This is what I call my “level zero” race.  Because it’s like I’m starting over so I have to have a race somewhere to 1.) Get started again, and 2.) Establish a baseline.  It’s going to suck and I’m going to be grumpy after the race, but only at what I’ve done to myself.  It’s nobody’s fault but mine.  And once I set a baseline level of suck I can measure future performances against it.  Speaking of which, run number two presented itself when I went to the gym last week.  The city parks and rec department is putting on a trail run (no obstacles) at my home course.  It’s a 7K… which sounds way more impressive than 4.3 miles.  Still something fun and different.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

