Triathlons and Mud Runs and Trail Runs… Oh My!

OK… This stomach flu stuff is free to go.  Anytime… No, really.

Well, I made a big first step today.  Since I couldn’t get out of my driveway (snow), I spent some quality time on the interwebs researching triathlons and other events for 2014.  Something I haven’t done in over a year…

I learned that they are:

  1. Still expensive
  2. Seem to be filling up with mud runs, glow runs, color runs and other crap I’m not interested in… at least at this point.
  3. Causing a conflict between my fitness level (how far I can go) and my brain (how far I THINK I can go)… Remember… Listen to the body, not the brain.
  4. Scattered among WAY more event providers than before.
  5. Intimidating as hell.  But that’s not new 🙂

Still, I must admit it’s good to feel that anxious excitement and little adrenaline rush when I think about lining up again.  I always loved that feeling.

I still don’t have any firm candidates.  There are some new ones I’m interested in.  Trail runs and the like.  There are some old ones like the KC Tri that I have TRIED to participate in several times and gotten chased off of by weather, and then there is always that XTERRA I always wanted to do.  I would still like to see one of those someplace in Missouri.  The six hour drive is more intimidating than the race is…

I’m thinking March is a good time frame to really start targeting for a “race”.  Until then I may dabble in the free, local races and a 5K or two, but nothing serious.  Just building back up my base.

I dug through my stuff and found my swim workouts (yes, I kept and even CATEGORIZED them) and while I’m not up to the fitness level to start them back up again, they give me a goal to shoot for, distance wise.  Once I hit 1800 yards again on my own, I will go back to those workouts.  For now, they are just reminders of how far I have to go…

There are a lot of things that appeal to me.  Duathlons, trail races.  Unless I can really ramp it up and lose a LOT of weight, I think it is senseless of me to even consider anything over a sprint triathlon or 10K.  I hate having to “keep it real” but… I gotta keep it real.  And until we get some help at work my travel schedule will get in the way of anything longer.

I think this is part of what I was talking about before.  It’s easy to get seduced by the allure of longer or more intense races sometimes.  But I found myself setting these huge goals and then getting frustrated when I couldn’t get to them because life got in the way.  I don’t HAVE to do a half ironman or a full marathon.  But it sure was sexy to think about it.  The reality was I was never in shape to do either.  I would have been a lot better off without them.

I know my body now, better than I’ve ever known it.  Longer races have definitely taught me that.  But until I am looking UP at 175lb, those races are dangerous for me and my body tends to start self destructing.  That is a long way from now.  This week I just need to lose a pound… and pick a race… 🙂

One Response to Triathlons and Mud Runs and Trail Runs… Oh My!

  1. […] Triathlons and Mud Runs and Trail Runs… Oh My! (dabigleap.wordpress.com) […]

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

