When OK is good

So three times in the past week I found myself saying the same thing to myself… “Jeeze…  I really used to do 2-3 workouts a day… ALL THE TIME?”  I don’t remember that.  The pain must have blacked it out…  And not only did I do them, but all at a higher level.  I could run 7 miles at a 7:30 pace in the morning and then ride 30 miles at a 20+ mph pace in the evening.  Then get up and do it all over again.  And this was only 5 months ago.  How the mighty have fallen…

So let’s talk current state of fitness.

The positives:  I’m working out again.  In the past two weeks I have had 5 multi-workout days.  My knees don’t hurt.

The negatives:  Everything else hurts.

My legs, lungs and most other body parts are in full rebellion.  The fatigue is intense.  I’m starving.  I can’t sleep.

You know… the usual.

I know it will take 6 months to recover to a point where I can start “improving” again, so I’m trying not to think too much about how slow I am or how I keep blowing up on runs or rides.  I’m looking for  races again and starting to think about some goals for the fall.  Nothing major, and the first one is just to live that long.  But I’m looking forward again, which is a big plus.

I also know that I have 25 pounds to lose just to get BACK to the weight I was at when I did Redman, which was 20 pounds over what I should have been.  Which, in turn will improve my times and make me feel better.

Now, my most pressing issues are actually equipment based.  My shoes are trashed, my helmet is broken (retaining straps) and I’m too fat to fit in my wetsuit.  Oh… and I don’t have the money for new stuff.  I think the helmet will be OK and I might be able to fix it, but the shoes are a $130 issue.  The wetsuit is just something I’m going to have to drop the weight to get back into.  I’m not going to buy a new one.

Nothing like a new set of challenges.

However, I couldn’t be happier to have these problems.  Because a month ago I was seriously considering selling my stuff and just walking away.  I love the fact that I’m bitching about dead shoes.  It means I’m running.  It’s all good again.

So the short term goals are simple.  Make all the workouts.  Get back to wetsuit weight.  Get past the restart soreness and fatigue.  At least be able to hang with the group for the warmup mile.  Relax… I think I’m going to be OK…

Now I need a nap.  And maybe second breakfast.  Elevensies?  …sigh…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

