The end of an era… thank GAWD!

Right after we moved to Columbia in 2006 and I started the whole “get in shape” thingy… we purchased a treadmill.  It was almost immediately after that I discovered something.  I really frickin’ HATE treadmills.  And, yes, I WOULD much rather run in the (insert crappy weather scenario here) thankyouverymuch!  I’m slow enough on a good day.  I don’t need to run in place for an hour and have lights and dials remind me of how slow I am going on a second by second basis.

I did, however, manage to dutifully choke down some moderate time on our treadmill and it has served other purposes as well.  It helped my wife train for her first running event and helped her rehab her back, etc.  It was also grudgingly used by my son in an effort to teach him about fitness.  I think that one backfired though as he now hates treadmills as much as I do.  So it served a useful purpose.  However, of late I have been going to the gym and swimming or spinning (which is like the treadmill… on a bike… with music) and I have started lifting weights again so the treadmill has been relegated to a clothes drying rack or a place for stray socks to hide under.

So my wife came to me a few weeks ago and said “ya know, we should just sell that treadmill and make more room in the living room”.  I fought back tears of joy as I choked out the “yeah, you are probably right” response.  So I posted that I was selling it to the local triathlon club and got several inquiries almost immediately.  It is destined to spend it’s last weekend at the Inn of the Three Legged Dragon this weekend.  Monday it will be gone.

Don’t get me wrong.  Treadmills serve a useful purpose and many people use them well to get/stay in shape.  I get that.  I’m just not one of them.  After about 10 minutes I am either bored stiff, dizzy, or both.  Even with all the programmed workouts, music, etc.  I just totally zone out and lose interest almost immediately.  I do much better on a spin bike (I’m not sure why), but still, I can only tolerate about an hour there, so I’m glad the gym has them so I don’t have to buy one.  That alone is worth the price of my membership.  That… and I don’t have to clean the pool…

But… Good riddance, sez I!  Honestly, just not having the guilt of looking at the thing every time I walk through the door and knowing I will NEVER use it again makes me feel better already.

“If you think a minute goes by really fast, you’ve never been on a treadmill.”

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

