Nothing Intelligent to say…

…but what else is new.

My last post was a month ago.  Right after I crashed my mountain bike and cracked a rib.  At that time I lamented about continuing to work out even with the injury but I had to take it pretty easy for a couple of weeks.  I couldn’t swim at all and everything else hurt so I had to back off.  Then, suddenly, one day it just got better.  I have no idea why or what happened, but it stopped hurting and I went to the pool and swam 1200 yards with no pain.  Odd little injury…

Anyway, moving on… Rather than boring you with 3 weeks of whining about how much I hurt, I just backed off of the blog a bit too.

Now it’s time to start prattling on again.  I had to skip the race I was going to do in June.  I don’t really have anything planned for July (maybe a local sprint… cuz it’s cheap), and usually take August inside to the pool because it’s hot…

However, hell seems to have come for a visit to the great midwest and we have seen 10 days straight of temps over 100 with barely a sign of letup.  “Maybe” Monday or Tuesday… I’m not holding my breath.  But the training has to continue and I’m already 3 weeks behind so all you can really do is just slow down and get used to it.  Since we are supposed to be approaching our two hottest months of the year… 

…I can’t wait…

So far, I have ridden 2 days in 100+ heat (day three will be tonight at 105!!) and yesterday I rode a metric century (65ish miles) with the finish temperature approaching 95.  I’m still too chicken to run mid day or later so I’m running early, but that is still getting hot too.  I will eventually start doing some short, heat runs since I know Oklahoma will be hot, even in September.  And I will be running a 13 miles in it with a projected start time for that run at about 11am.  I’m still trying to figure out why I’m doing this…?

Oddly enough, I am feeling and performing much better than I expected.  I finished up my 65 mile ride yesterday feeling really good.  I thought (briefly) about even going for a mile run!  Then sanity overcame me and I decided against that.  This morning’s run felt like crap at the start.  I really wanted to walk and just quit.  But I stuck with it and my legs came back to me in the last 3 miles.  I finished feeling tired but better than I thought I would. 

So the rest of the day today will be about hydration.  I really think that is why I felt so bad at the start.  I just didn’t re-hydrate yesterday after the ride like a should have.  I’m discovering more and more that neglecting my recovery costs me for days afterwards.  I might even look into getting some Recoverite or something similar for electrolyte replacement.  I don’t need it so much in the cool weather (if we ever have that again…) but it’s critical in the heat.

I started using a product called EFS that was suggested to me by some friends.  I have to say I’m impressed.  It comes in concentrate (400 calories in a squeeze bottle!) or powder.  I have tried both and like both a lot.  It is sweet but no aftertaste.  And my body approves of it so no tummy trouble.  Yesterday I used it on the century ride and I think that was what helped me stay so strong.  At one point, a peloton of the big boys passed the pack I was in and we all jumped in with them.  We spent the last 5 miles to the turn at 30+ mph and I had no problem hanging with the pack.  Anyway… something to check out.

I think I’m at a point now where I can handle the individual distances in the half without a problem.  Now it’s time to start doubling up and doing some bricks.  Something like a 2 hour ride/1 hour run brick is my goal by the end of the month.  I’m still researching training plans.  I have found one that is pretty good but it just doesn’t fit my work schedule so I’m trying to tweak it.  I think it would be better for me if I had a plan to follow.  I just seem to stick with it more if I do.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

