How do you run these things, again?

I’ve got my first multi sport race of the season coming up this Saturday and I’m just not sure what to make of it.  I had one of my fastest rides ever tonight.  I hung with the big boys all the way to the end of the long route, going just a tick over 21.5mph for 27 miles.  That’s moving.  In my first/last/only 5k of the season I had a fast mile at 6:58.  These two times, combined, could mean a great race on Saturday…

I decided to use this race, the MaxTrax Duathlon, as my first and shortest multi sport race of the season.  I chose to do the short course, which is 1.5/7.5/1.5.  I did this deliberately.  I know I could clean the long course without a problem but I want to start small and build all year.  Granted, kicking things off with a half marathon wasn’t exactly “small”, but I did that for different reasons.  Nope, my plan is to do this duathlon, then the TriZou sprint triathlon, then the Sedalia Duathlon (long), and then move the Innsbrook Olympic (TOUGH course), maybe one more olympic in July, then Kirksville at half Iron pace and then the half iron at Redman in OKC (and maybe the sprint the next day if I can) to finish off the year.  Start small and grow.

My dilemma is how fast to run this race?  I feel now like I could destroy this race.  Perhaps even challenge for a podium spot.  I would think that a couple of 1.5 mile runs at sub 7 pace and a 21mph + ride would be pretty strong.  I think, given my much improved state of fitness, that this is a reasonable goal.  But what I want is consistency.  I don’t care how fast I run the first leg, I just want to run both legs the same.  Last year, I ran the first leg at about a 7 min mile pace.  But showed my lack of fitness in the second run leg with a nearly 2 minute drop.  Not good.

So… Do I destroy the first leg and the ride and then just deal with the aftermath on the final run leg?  Or do I shoot for about a 7 minute mile first leg, a 21mph bike and (hopefully) a consistent second run?  Gah!  Duathlons are hard to strategize…

But you know…?  It’s damn fun to kick around those kind of numbers for this or any race… 🙂  I’ll let you know how it went on Saturday!

One Response to How do you run these things, again?

  1. […] How do you run these things, again? (dabigleap.wordpress.com) […]

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

