Last week of BL

Well… MY scale, when I weigh in the mornings, is reading about 188.  Who knows what that will turn into with the BL scale.  But it would still be sweet to see a big drop in the last week.  Something more than a pound would be nice.  It would be my luck that it comes out at 190.1…  Lying rat bastard scale…  Regardless, I started at 213lb on January 3.  Not a bad way to kick off the season!

Honestly though, I don’t really care.  This has done for me exactly what I wanted it to.  It has made me change some habits and forced me to look at what I’m eating and how I”m working out.  Mission accomplished.  My pants fit better (correction: actually FIT) and I feel better.  I even think I’m sleeping better.  Which would be a major accomplishment in itself!

I said jokingly to some friends that my goal wasn’t to see my six pack… it was just to get rid of the keg 😉  And I mean that.  I can’t say that I will ever be disciplined enough with eating to get completely rid of the spare tire, but I can deflate it a lot.  I love food too much to ever give myself completely over to tofu and I am a card carrying carnivore.  That will never change.  But portion control and being more careful about my choices have already helped.  Oh I still cave in from time to time and have a burger and fries.  It’s rare now though.  And I don’t feel particularly bad about it.  I have plenty of super healthy meals as well so it’s a balance.  I always told myself that if being fit meant being miserable at the dinner table for the rest of my life… I just wouldn’t be fit.  I have given up plenty, but still love my food… just less of it at a time 🙂

I chickened out on the run yesterday morning.  Thirty eight degrees and rain/thunder… No thankies.  I was able to get away yesterday afternoon for a good 7.5 mile run through the woods on a trail called Rhett’s Run, close to my house.  Unlike Rock Bridge, Rhett’s is all hills.  The whole thing is on the side of a big series of hills so there is not much flat.  And it’s a bit more technical than Rock Bridge.  It’s amazing, although it should be pretty frickin’ obvious… how much easier the hills feel as I continue to shed pounds.  I’m still not flying up them yet, but they are getting easier.  I still tiptoe cautiously through the rocky parts for fear of twisting ankles, but that is changing too as I get more confident with foot placement, etc.  I don’t think I’ll ever be really fast in the woods, but I will always run them.

My swim this morning was comfortable.  I threw in 3 X 200 at what I thought would be race pace for a sprint triathlon (between 500-750 yard swim).  So hard enough for 200 to be working, but not all out.  My times came in at 3:48, 3:52 and 3:42.  Not fast, but better.  I think if I do TriZou this year (450 yd swim) I can confidently stand at the front of the 8 minute line if I go all out.  That will knock 2 minutes off my time right there!  That would put me at 1:16:00 so I have the bike and the run to knock off another minute down under 1:15:00… Hmmm….

 

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

