The big push

When I started the Biggest Loser competition held by our local triathlon club, I did so for purely personal reasons.  The timing was right with my efforts to get back in shape and I needed the kickstart (and peer pressure) associated with the competition.  While the whole “team spirit” never really materialized, it still helped to keep me honest in those early days when I needed a push.  Just knowing that I was going to have to broadcast my weight in public was enough of a gentle reminder to help me bypass the chip aisle at the store.

I didn’t really intend on “competing” for the win.  I set a goal to be back in shape, running comfortably and using BL to get to anything under 190.  If I do that, it’s a win for me.  A great jumpstart to the season and beyond.  This will put me 20lb away from my goal weight of 170lb.  Not bad for mid March.  And, more importantly, it gave me a reason to change my habits.

So I am at 191 with 1 week to go.  One pound and change will do it.  While I would love to be 2 or 3 pounds under… a win is a win.  Luckily, this week is light on work stuff.  No travel or classes to teach.  I can do this…  My scale this morning read 188.  I believe in its accuracy about as much as I do the official scale we weigh in on, but still.  How close to perfect can I be this week?  We will see.

The combination of 5 hard weekend workouts plus pulling a couple of near all nighters getting ready for a new class had me completely exhausted this morning.  I got good sleep last night, but the combination of fatigue and really sore legs from the stair workout (thanks Betsy an Ben!) cancelled my morning run.  I’m feeling better now that the caffeine levels are back up to normal so I’m off to the pool and then a mountain bike this afternoon… maybe?

Weight: 191lb  1.1lb to go 😉

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

