You mean I don’t just spin?

Another big weekend of workouts.  A solid, fast 10 mile run on Saturday and then a 5 mile trail run and a 2 hour spin on Sunday, plus lifting weights with my son.  Then 1800 in the pool this morning.  Yup, I’m tired and hungry… 🙂

Still not much success in the weight loss area though.  Came in at 193, so, according to the “official” scale, I lost back the 2 pounds I gained the week before.  Whatever.  Nobody believes that scale.  Everyone in the biggest loser competition is complaining about how inconsistent it is.  Still frustrating though.  And yes, I know, I’m complaining and the scale showed good results.  Personally, I would rather have consistency.  I have gotten on that thing and it gave one weight, then gotten on it again 10 seconds later and it was 3-5 lb different.  Oh well, we all have to deal with it.

The spin class on Sunday was a chance for me to tweak my tri bike a bit.  Lowered the seat a little, played with moving around a bit.  Had a couple of people look at my position and they all agreed I’m a little too stretched out and a little too upright.  So I took the bike back in and swapped out the bar stem for a shorter one.  Next I will drop the bars a bit.  I will probably play with it most of the year, just trying to get the comfort vs. performance right.  I can tell it’s been a while since I sat in the aero position that long because my back is sore…!

I guess the surprising thing is how I feel this morning.  Although I didn’t really sleep good last night (tired legs=uncomfortable legs) I woke up this morning and I don’t hurt as bad as I thought I would.  My swim was pretty decent and, best of all, I seem to be able to get up and down the stairs OK.  In fact, my legs hurt less today than they did Sunday morning BEFORE the trail run/spin.

In the spin class, we had a coach/trainer lead the workout and he showed us some of his “training” workout.  I put that in quotes because I have never done a “training” workout on a stationary bike/trainer.  I have always just ridden or tried to do some kind of modified spin class.  His “training” workout involved more intervals and all out efforts but it wasn’t as hard as it sounds.  He gave plenty of time between efforts for recovery and had us spin in a very easy gear during recovery.  This made bundling up a little energy to throw into the all out efforts a little easier.  Don’t get me wrong, this was a strenuous workout, but manageable.  It will definitely be something I do instead of just spinning on the trainer.

This week will need to be pretty intense if I can find the time because next week I will be away at conferences and out of reach of a pool or decent bike.  Lots of running.  But this week looks pretty decent, weather wise so I may sneak out for a couple more rides or even a brick… outside… in February… in the midwest… how crazy is that?

Weight: 193lb  Down 2lb for the week

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

