Numbers or not

Finally got back below that elusive 8 minute mile on Tuesday.  Granted it was only 7:58, but it’s still a win.  And it wasn’t an all out effort which is also encouraging.  Another positive was that it was my fastest mile and it was at the END of a 7+ mile run.

Sometimes you have to look pretty hard and pay attention to the numbers to see progress.  I went back to the (sporadic at best) statistics for my runs since the 15 mile race at Rock Bridge and there is a clear trend down in my pace and up in my mileage.  Of course it really took off after I started losing weight and in the past 2 weeks (10 pounds) I have dropped from a 9:00 average pace to an 8:30.  Part of it also is the addition of a training partner (thanks Judy!) to push me, especially on the ups where I tend to cruise a little too much.  But I don’t always run with her and my times are still better so take that for what it is.

I am NOT a stats guy.  I just can’t be that type A.  But I think it is important to at least keep a casual eye on them because they can be a general indicator of fitness, fatigue, injury, etc.  I used to obsess over numbers but found that I just got frustrated and especially when I hit plateaus, it sucked the fun right out of exercise.  So now I look occasionally but it’s mostly “in the moment” where I check my stats right after a run, ride, etc. but mostly I am comparing those numbers to my perceived level of effort.  For a while, the numbers didn’t line up with how I felt.  My times were slower than I felt.  But in the past two weeks that has leveled out and I can pretty much guess within 5 seconds or so per mile how I did.  Now I just need to be wrong on the plus side and run FASTER than I feel I did… 😉  This will come though.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

