I think the power’s back on

It’s really a wonderful feeling and the biggest runner’s high for me when I go out on a run and feel strong.  I love being able to step on the gas every once in a while and have something positive happen.  I’m really starting to see some improvement in performance now and it’s the biggest charge I could hope for to my motivation.

There was nothing abnormal about the start of today’s run.  I started off at an easy, warmup pace and was breathing comfortably and enjoying the conversation going on around me.  I got a bit miffed when the “warmup” group took off at a much faster pace than usual.  We usually start out in a big pack for the first mile and then the faster guys take off of the front.  But they were gone after a hundred yards today.  Their warmup had to have been 8:00 because by the end of the first mile (I was running about 9) I couldn’t even SEE them anymore.

Other than that, the route was flat and familiar. My legs felt good and my lungs didn’t even feel like I was running.  I was able to chat all the way to the turnaround (I’m usually wheezing by then) and on the way back I found my pace wanting to creep up.  I tried to hold it back to stay with the pack I was in, but finally gave up and decided to hit the last mile hard.  I ended up with an 8:01 last mile which is the fastest mile I have run in 6 months.  I think if I had known how close to a 7 I was I would have pushed it even more 🙂

I need more runs like that.  It felt like a win.

I did something else I have not done in a LONG time tonight at the gym.  I hopped on a spin bike!  I did my own routine to my music based on what I remembered.  Warmup, spin, sprint, jump, climb (seated and standing), single leg.  I tried it all.  It was really fun!  I’m sure spin has changed and now there are a bunch more moves or exercises.  I watched part of a spin class the other day and the instructor had the class get off the bikes and do other stuff.  I don’t think it was a true spin class but… screw that!  I want to SPIN.  That involves staying on the bike.

I forgot how much I sweat when I do spin class.  Yuck!  I mean, I sweat a lot anyway… but YUCK!  I think the workout is a keeper though.  And right now until all the resolutioners go away it’s almost impossible to get on any equipment in the main area anyway.  For most of my spin workout tonight, I was alone!  Much better than staring at 8 TVs full of stupid with a hundred or so other sweaty humans.  I just need to remember to bring water and a BIG towel… cuz… YUCK!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

