Workarounds

It’s always frustrating when work gets in the way of training.  Granted, it is also what PAYS for training, so I can complain too much.  But there are times when it’s just not possible to train like I want.  I travel a lot with my job and being in unfamiliar towns and hotels tends to screw up any training plan.  Yes, I can run sometimes, but not often due to the daily schedule (usually up and out by 7am).  Some hotels have recumbent bikes or treadmills I can use, but most are in questionable condition if they are usable at all.  And hotel pools are for splashing, not training.  It will get easier as the days get longer and I can get outside more, but for now, every time I go out on a training is pretty much a day I write off.  And since I’m out about twice a week until we get another trainer (we are hiring by the way!), I’m just going to have to take what I can get.

I used to keep track of the places I went that I found cool running trails, etc. but I’ve kind of let that go.  I’m going to start it back up again this spring though as I find neat spots.  I’m going to some new towns so it will be fun to explore.

Eating on the road is a disaster.  With all the gear we have to pack sometimes, you can’t exactly carry a cooler.  Buying stuff in the town you are going to can be done… if the town is big enough to have a grocery store… 😉  But some hotels have microwaves and some don’t.  So that either leaves you eating cold food, or going out.  And though I have been successfully able to avoid drinking alcohol (even while sitting at the bar!), I can’t say my intake has been stellar (bar food?  are you kidding me?  Nacho’s is the BEST thing on the menu… *sigh*).

So all I can really do is train extra hard on the days I have available and work on my nacho habit when I’m on the road (one vice for another).

I have decided that since my priority is to get a bike so I can do the whole multisport thingy again, I’m not going to enter any races until I buy one.  I can’t afford to run 5Ks every weekend when I need that cash to buy a bike.  I hate not racing but it’s either just do run events all year OR buy a bike and do triathlons.  Not “and”…  I can sneak in a couple of local events that are free to club members in my local running club.  That will have to do.  I just really hope I can get a bike by summer.  The one I have picked out is not crazy expensive, but it’s not cheap either.  This will be interesting.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

