Which scale do I trust?

The ups and downs of trying to get back in shape are getting bigger.  The ups this week were a run with negative splits and the last 2 miles at 8:00 pace, my longest pool swim ever at 2200 (mind numbing) yards and a great run at Rock Bridge this morning in which I felt strong, fast and like I could run forever.  The down is simply my weight.  Depending on which scale you trust (I don’t trust any of them…), I either lost 2 pounds or gained one. My scale says 196.  Unfortunately the scale that is used to weigh us in for the biggest loser competition says I gained a pound and I’m at 201…?

All I know is my pants are fitting MUCH looser and I can get back into a pair or two that I haven’t been able to wear in 6 months.  THAT is a win and a big up.  I can’t do anything but what I’m already doing so worrying about it is just going to get me frustrated.  Not something I need with all the other stress in life.  I have to keep telling myself I CHOSE this stress.  I WANT it.  So stop bitching about it… 🙂

I’m pretty excited about the swim yesterday.  To swim 2200 yards this early in the season and call it easy…  that’s a good sign.  I just tried to relax and glide.  And save for  a couple of times when people got in the way, I was able to do that.  It seems to take me about 500 yards to really warm up but after that I’m pretty comfortable.  I even threw in a couple of hot laps just to make me work a little harder.  That is probably what I should start adding in to my swim workouts next.  Speed and interval work.

I think I’m starting to lag a little bit on my bike training.  I need to get on the spin bikes at the gym and get away from the recumbent in front of the TVs.  There are a couple of interactive (video game driven) bikes that I can actually get a good workout on, but they are always taken.  I found out from a friend that the spin bikes can be used at any time so I may just start jumping in the spin room for a bit.  It is still going to be a while before I have a road bike and the weather makes mountain biking sketchy at best, so I need an alternative for now.

I’m having a hard time controlling the urge to revisit some of those goals I missed last year.  The sub 22 min 5K especially.  Depending on how the weight loss goes, I might just have to bring that one back because I WANT that one.  I think if I hit 175 I can do it.  I was close at 180.  I also want to do an offroad tri but they are hard to find without the Xterra label on them.  Not that Xterra races are bad, they just don’t believe in doing them inside the Missouri state lines and I don’t have the money to go THAT FAR out of state.  The closest one to me is about 7 hours away…  meh.

Finally, I started a Pinterest board on mountain biking.  This board is about all the places I have mountain biked or the places I want to go.  Most are in SoCal for now, but I hope to add some of the great spots here in Missouri to the board soon.  Pinterest is highly addictive, by the way.

Weight:  I have no idea… I guess 201 because that’s what the BL scale said.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

