Swim brought to you by Jell-O pudding

Today… I swam in pudding.

Oh it looked like water.  Even smelled like chlorine.  But it felt like pudding.

I could NOT get going today.  I managed to get 1800 in but it was a death march (swim).  My balance didn’t feel right… Oh I’m not going to go through it all.  I was just slow.  My shoulders hurt for the first 800 yards before they finally loosened up.

I know, I know.  Any swim you can walk away from (not drown in) is a good one.  But I don’t really believe that.  This was just a bad swim and though I could have gone farther I stopped because I could tell I was getting frustrated.  Swimming is very technique based and is all about muscle memory.  Do your stroke the right way 10,000 times and it will start to get better.  Today my arms were all over the place, I rotated too much and then not enough.  I was lifting my head when I breathed.  All signs it was time to stop.   So I did.  I would rather save it for a time when my mind is in it more.  Today I was pretty much out to lunch.

I switched my lifting routine tonight to reflect my desire to lose weight.  I have dropped to half the weight I was lifting and am basically doing burn out sets (lift until you fatigue).  For most exercises that is about 25 reps.  I’ve also added back in some stretching, especially for my lower body.  My hamstrings are horribly tight.  Not the best for distance running.  Now that I am past the soreness of the first few weeks of serious training, it’s easier to stretch and the gym has all the toys I need to help get the job done.  I just need to commit to doing it.  It doesn’t take that long but for some reason it is one of the first things I stop doing.  Just a bad habit.

Weight (by my scale): Down one pound to 197.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

