It’s a mindset thing.

My three day weekend consisted of 8 miles on the mountain bike, 8. 5 miles of trail running, a 6 mile road run and 3 gym sessions (light cardio and weightlifting).  I think that’s enough.  I feel good and I’m not tired.  I ran 6 hilly miles this morning and felt good there too.  I think I might finally be getting back into it!  A month ago 3 days like that would have had me hobbling up stairs for the rest of the week.  But I feel really good.  If I keep up that kind of routine and just be careful with my food, I can’t see how I could possibly NOT lose weight.

Here’s a mindset for you.  Train hard, focus on getting the workouts in, have fun and DON’T worry about the scale.  I really am enjoying the freedom of just moving under my own power now without the stress of hitting constant mileage/time goals that I realized that even though I am in this (friendly) competition to lose weight, I’m still only weighing myself about twice a week.  I’m more interested in beating the weather and getting back into pants that haven’t fit in 6 months than I am about anything else.

I just think people put too much emphasis on the scale.  Yes, it is the final judge, I get that.  But just like working and trying over and over to hit that mileage/time mark and coming up a few seconds under, or worse, right at or a few seconds over your goal.  You can get so obsessed about the numbers that you forget everything else.  For me, this leads to frustration which usually ends up DE-motivating me.  Heck, I forgot my watch this morning and after that old habit pang of “oh crap, how am I going to know how I’m doing?”, I stopped myself and laughed.  Who cares?  I will KNOW how I am doing by how I feel.  I’ve been doing this long enough to know what good effort feels like.  Besides, the only important stat for me on my watch is what my average pace is and (warning: old guy admission ahead) I can’t even see the stupid numbers because they are too small on the watch… 😉  Which, of course is CLEARLY the fault of the watch, not my eyes…

Yes, there will come a day when all of this stuff will matter more.  But not now.  I need to get back to the day when my weight will realistically let me “train” for something.  I have a training plan for a half Ironman.  But I’m not even going to start on it until my weight is at a point where it is realistic and SAFE to train for those distances.  Like I’ve said, I can DO the distances, individually, right now and I could probably slog my way through a half Iron, just to say I did it.  But that’s not what I want.  I want to do it right, and I want to do it well.  This starts with being at the right weight.  Correction, this starts with not being at the WRONG weight.  That is where I am now.  I won’t know what the right weight is until I get there.  I’ll let you know.

I do know what would happen at this weight…  Slow swim, dizzy T1, 3 hr bike ride (falling further behind on nutrition the entire way), nauseating T2, dehydrated, cramp filled 13 mile run.  Why would I want to do this?  I know this is what would happen because any time I have tried to compete heavy in any race (or even train for one) this is the result.  Packing an extra 25-30lb is just dangerous.  Heat affects me more.  If I don’t hit all of my nutrition marks I cramp horribly but I just can’t take in enough fluids/calories to support packing the extra weight around the course.  If I hydrate and eat the way I should, I get sick because I’ve got too much in my stomach.  See the vicious cycle?

Look, this is just me and my body.  Everybody is different.  I’ve seen and talked to several multi Ironman finishers who are heavy.  I have tried their suggestions but I just can’t make them work.

This is not me feeling sorry for myself either.  It is just the way things are.  It’s all a learning curve.  My friend Betsy once said to me that it takes 7 years to get completely comfortable with triathlons.  And things still go wrong.  I’m cool with that.  I just know the first thing on the list to get me “comfortable” is weight loss.  Oh, and the whole “losing weight will help me with everything else in life” thing is pretty cool too… 🙂

Weight: 198lb.  Down 2lb.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

