I can’t afford healthy!

The word for the day is tired.  I think I have just the tiniest of head colds.  Barely even enough to notice, but just enough to drag me down a bit.  Still got a 6 mile run in this morning and made it to the gym with Sam this afternoon.  The scale at the gym said 200 lb so I may not lose any weight this week.  I wouldn’t be surprised if that happened given the huge drop last week, but I’m hoping for at least a pound.  Progress is progress.  If energy is any indication (except today with the cold) of progress I must be doing something right.  My energy level has been high for the last 3 days, but I’m still sleeping OK at night.  I’m up early and ready.  Not groggy.  I think that part is settling down.

I think if I can keep my eating in check now and gradually cut back a little more, I will start to see a steady decline in “real” weight.  But as always happens with me there will be some redistribution of weight as I gain a little muscle here and lose a little fat there.  It never just falls off and those who think it does are foolish.  Now is when the REALLY hard work begins.

I’m going to run a little longer at Rock Bridge tomorrow.  Maybe the full 7 mile loop on the Devil’s Ice Box side…  Hopefully I can get it in before the trail goes from frozen to muddy.  Even though it is supposed to be in the 50s tomorrow I don’t think anyplace will be rideable.  The snow will melt quickly tomorrow and anything but roads will just be gross to ride on.  Oh well.  Maybe I’ll swim for that second workout tomorrow…

The hardest part about all this so far is not trading one vice for another.  I have dropped alcohol but now I want soda or coffee.  I’m cutting back on my portions but I want chips.  And every night, I want good chocolate (not a Butterfinger, GOOD chocolate… I’m picky).  I hate this part of it all.  I really just want to forget about food altogether.  I feel like I am failing when I daydream about a bag of Doritos.  My 21 days may have to stretch a little.

On a different note.  HOLY CRAP!  Ironman REALLY likes their events!  Almost $300 for a half Ironman?  …really?  You realize it’s in Kansas… right?  You know what’s IN Kansas… right?  My 70.3 experience may not come with an Ironman tag.  Pigman, Great Illini or Redman may have to suffice.  Even they are expensive.  Maybe I should just go back to running.  I don’t know if I can afford this kind of healthy.  Oh… and I STILL don’t have a bike.

Exterra’s schedule is pretty frustrating as well.  They don’t have anything within 300 miles of me.  With all the fantastic venues in this state, surely they could find SOMETHING that would work.  Instead of 50 events in Arkansas… *sigh*

Oh I’m still gonna swim, bike and run.  I just may not wear a number or timing chip this year… 😦

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

