Redline

Sometimes it feels like I have forgotten how to push.  Like I have become so complacent over the last year that I have forgotten how to go hard.  How to hit max effort…  Even though I don’t think it’s good to be there all the time, I think it does help set boundaries for your training.  How do you know what it feels like to redline unless you have been there?  I need to get back to that place again.  Not often.  Maybe once a week or so.  Perhaps in a different sport each time.  But for instance in swimming, I have never hit max effort (granted, at first it ALWAYS felt like max effort…).

I used to run track night once a week and if there is anything that can teach you what it feels like to step to the edge, it’s that kind of workout.  It is short, only 45 minutes or so.  But you are pushing the whole time.  I think every athlete needs to feel that.  Even if they never go there in a race.  It provides perspective.  It shows you that most of the efforts you feel are “hard”… are not.

I’ve really never redlined while bike training either.  Oh granted I’ve gone out too fast and blown up, but that is not redline, it’s just poor discipline.  I need to find a bike workout to do once or twice a month that makes me peg the rpms and keep them there long enough to get the feel for it.  And I’m NOT talking about going so hard you puke and/or die.  I mean a workout that takes me to my max possible sustained effort and makes me stay there.

Honestly, I don’t know how to do that.  I have never “trained” for triathlons at that level.  I’m not really even sure why I want to.  I guess I’m just exploring my limits in anticipation of pushing them…  I do believe that I am capable of more though.  Longer, faster, better.

Right now all I’m doing is trying desperately to maintain and perhaps improve my fitness.  I don’t need to start my redline training until later in the spring, but I’m thinking about it.  Track nights are an easy fix for running, but I’m not sure what to do about biking and swimming.  I need to dig around and ask some of the more experienced athletes what they do or if they have a high intensity workout to share.

For now I am happy with my progress.  I push when I can and back off when my body says to.  The only thing I need to work on now is spreading out my calories during the day better.  I’m finding I’m getting home in the evening starving and head-achy.  I either need to split my lunch portion up into two servings or have something else to eat (light snack/fruit) around 3-4.  The rest of the day, I’m good.  I just don’t want to binge eat for dinner.  Even though I have an evening workout most evenings, it’s still not a good habit to get into in case I stop doing those workouts… 😉

Weight: unchanged.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

