Keeping count

First day in a week with only one workout…  I’m feeling guilty… 🙂

Strange.  Even though I work hard in the pool, I actually look forward to it as an easy day.  The pool relaxes me and it’s totally non weight bearing exercise so I huff and puff, but I’m not beating my legs up.  After a 10 mile brick at Rock Bridge yesterday, I needed to take my substantial load off of my legs for a day.  Got about a mile in of mixed drills.  Mostly 200’s with the main set being 200 swim/200 paddles/200 pull X 2.  The paddles are still really hard work and I have to be careful I don’t over

Deutsch: Bora Bora mit vorgelagerten Motus (Lu...

Image via Wikipedia

fatigue my shoulders.  But I can already feel the difference and I’ve only been using them for a month.

My nemesis in the pool is thinking.  Oh, no… Not about technique or anything important like that.  No.  I start to daydream and forget what the hell I’m doing.  Nothing like getting 500 yards into a 1000 yard main set and forgetting what lap you are on because you are thinking about your compost…  I’m sure I could be 10 seconds faster per hundred if I could just stay focused long enough to count to 2 laps.  *sigh*

Speaking of swimming, one of the bloggers I follow (DC Rainmaker) just took a trip to Bora Bora.  He posted pictures and for the first time I found myself saying “Man… I would love to swim there…”  What the hell is wrong with me?  Am I becoming a swimmer?  Don’t I know there are sharks and jelly fish and…  But it sure is beautiful… No?  I’m not even the kind that likes tropical islands but a swim with the fishes in Bora Bora would be pretty amazing.  Still, for me to associate swimming with anything other than dread marks a radical shift.

The whole weight loss thing still has me a little worried.  I’m hoping I don’t bounce and gain weight this week.  I’m being careful and I’m slowly trying to decrease my intake a little more (although tonight’s turkey sausage gumbo was hard to say no to) each day.  I “think” I’m down to about 2500 calories a day now.  With the amount I’m working out, that puts me negative on most days.  I really want to work it so that I eat about the same every day.  I don’t believe in carbo loading that much and feel that if I can get my body used to a certain intake then it will be most efficient at that intake level and I won’t need to load up.  I also wonder just how much pre race carb loading or eating big after a long workout actually helps.  I’ve read studies and articles on both sides.  As with everything I believe in life, I think the truth lies somewhere in the middle.  It’s all personal anyway.  I have to find what works for me.  You would think I would know what that is by now…  meh… maybe when I grow up…

Weight: 200lb

 

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

