Week one is in the books

I got on my scale this morning and it says I weight 200lb.  I know this is not correct and is more like 205, but the point is I’m about 8lb down… In one week.  While I should be excited about this… I know better.  8 pounds in one week is too much.  Part of it was water weight from cutting out the alcohol.  Part of it is being slightly dehydrated from this morning’s run/ride brick.  And part of it is legitimate weight loss.  I think I, realistically have lost about 4lb of fat this week.  About THAT, I AM excited.  In the weeks to come I expect the weight to be more stubborn as my body adjusts.  Healthy weight loss should be in the neighborhood of 1 to 2 lb per week.  That is what I am shooting for.  Anything else is a bonus but may come right back so I discount it a bit.

I’m not undervaluing the effort though.  This week has seen me greatly increase my exercise frequency/duration/type/distance as well as decrease my intake.  Standing at the end of it looking back I can say that it wasn’t that bad.  I think I can maintain it because, while I am tired from the effort, I am not exhausted to the point of pain and restlessness.  I’m just pooped, like I should be from a good workout.

At one point, when I was training for a marathon, I found myself lost in the pleasure of the workout.  The miles came and went easily as I thought about form, distance, breathing, life, death, taxes, Pixar movies, wood finishes and a million other things.  I realized today as I was running and chatting with my friend Judi that I had been taking it all too seriously for the last couple of years.  It has been all about times, intervals, hitting splits and mileage goals, race strategy, and so on.  All so I can STILL finish in the middle of the pack.  All that work had really started to suck the joy out of the experience.  At one point Judi professed her love for trail running for all the squirrels to hear.  And I thought, you know… she’s right.  I do love this stuff so much.  I really need to focus on that.  Not the splits, but the experience.  Not the finish times, the friendships.  There was a fantastic group of over 20 people at the park today.  Most are fantastic athletes who have logged 100 mile trail runs, full Ironmans, ultras and more.  But you couldn’t tell it by the crap we were giving each other.  It was all about fun.  So even though I vowed not to make any serious, long term goals, I’m going to anyway.  My new long term goal is to be in good enough shape and fast enough to keep up with them.  I don’t want to beat them, I just want to have the pleasure of their company.  Is that weird?  To make the goal just to be fast enough to be a part of the crowd?  Because, at the same time, I want to run/bike/swim with anyone who wants to.  I DON”T CARE about how fast I go.  Just that I go…  Whether they run 7:30 miles or 12:00 miles doesn’t matter to me.

Anyway, just rambling.  I am going to my first weeks weigh in for the Biggest Loser competition with my triathlon club.  I don’t expect to win because I already have.  As long as my weight keeps going down, that’s my win.  I have my goals.  Now it’s time to make it as fun as possible!

Weight: Probably around 205 on a good scale.  I’ll let you know 🙂

 

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

