Anomaly

Look.  I know a little about losing weight.  It’s always good to know your enemy.  But with me it’s always been that I am “educated” on losing weight.  This does not equate to actually being “good” at it.

Things I do know are facts such as healthy weight loss is in the 1-2 pounds a week range, water weight accounts for a significant part of initial weight loss, true fat loss may not happen for weeks when dieting, etc.

So when I got on the scale this afternoon to weigh for biggest loser, I had already checked my weight several times during the week and knew that I was losing weight fairly rapidly.  Since I don’t trust my old home scale, I figured It would be in the 5-7 lb range.  I was shocked and surprised to see that the scale showed 200lb exactly.  That is a 13lb weight loss in one week.

While I will admit to being a little dehydrated due to my morning workout, I just can’t explain the huge difference.  I’m glad to be lighter but am a bit dubious about the whole thing.  Some doctors out their would explain it off as water loss due to increased exercise and quitting drinking.  Others would panic and send me to the hospital.  I tend to go with the former.

Regardless, I think this is an anomaly.  I will be lucky to maintain this for the week and certainly don’t expect to get anywhere near that for week two.  My goal is still 1-2 lb per week.  I wouldn’t be surprised if I actually gained weight next week, although I’m gonna work hard to make sure that doesn’t happen… 🙂 The next goal on the list is to get out of the Clydesdale category… O.o

I have, however, revised my short term (to the end of March) goal.  I have 25lb to lose now to hit 175lb.  I think I can hit that by the end of March.  I also think that 168 by Redman is a reasonable goal.

Now, I need an event.  Something to work for…  Short term, maybe the next 2 months…  Suggestions?

1/7/2012 Weight: 200lb

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

