Battle report

Six days into the new year and I am still on track.  In fact, I’m a bit more motivated as I test myself and pass on things like eating out with friends and NOT having a beer.  In fact, I even went to the store tonight and checked out through the liquor department just to prove to myself that I could actually go to a store WITHOUT buying beer.  I know this sounds silly to some and like I’m tempting fate to others, but I need to do this to prove to myself I don’t need it.  I will admit the Schlafly Irish Stout was tempting… but I resisted.

They say that to make something a habit, you need to do it 21 days in a row.  So my short term goal is to eat right and don’t have beer for another 15 days.  Past that another article I read somewhere says it takes 6 months permanently make a lifestyle change.  Personally, though this is a good mid term goal to set, I really just need to focus day to day.  If I do the best I can every day, eventually I will win the battle of the beer and the bulge.

On the exercise front things are going very well.  I have hit all my marks so far and I am feeling stronger.  I am not worried about times right now because I know they will drop as my weight drops.  Again, it’s about building good habits and routines.  My running feels better than it has in months, regardless of times.  That’s a win.  My swimming is what it is.  I feel comfortable and relaxed.  I WANT to swim.  That’s a win.  But the biggest win of all this winter is the gift of weather that mother nature is giving us.  Although I’m sure the other shoe will drop soon and we will either get hammered with snow and cold OR, more unfortunately for me, it will be BRUTALLY hot this summer… for now, it’s amazing.  The 50 and 60 degree temps (with no wind or rain) have allowed me to mountain bike so my bike legs aren’t completely gone.  That’s a BIG win.  I love my MTB more every time I ride it and getting some extra chances to ride during the dead of winter is priceless for my base building AND my spirits.

This weekend will be a test for me as I run long tomorrow and then try to run trails AND MTB on Sunday.  First weigh in for biggest loser is on Sunday so we will see if this is doing any good… O.o

Weight: 208 lb (no change)

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

