What a difference…

…two years makes.

Two years ago in December… I didn’t know how to swim.  At all.  Starting triathlons gave me the confidence to learn to swim at the crisp, young age of 43… (gah!).  While it wasn’t pretty and my “controlled drowning” worried the lifeguards for more than a year before I got good enough at hiding my panic to keep them from standing at the end of my lane for an hour while I “swam”…  I have to say that I do like swimming now.  More than I thought I ever would.  I am still slow but I “look” like I know what I’m doing.  My stroke is even and at least somewhat balanced.  I have a kick now (note I didn’t say it was productive, just that it exists and propels me forward).  My breathing is comfortable.  My head is low in the water and doesn’t raise up to gasp for every breath.  I’m doing OK.  I don’t think I will ever be top 10 out of the water, but I won’t be bottom 10.  I’m cool with that.

I was thinking about my progress as I was swimming this morning.  Considering the daunting task of training up for a half Ironman sometime this year, I was thinking about what I needed to ramp up on.  I almost snorted a lung full of water when I realized that the set that I was currently, comfortably in the middle of was more than plenty to get me through the swim portion of a half.  Since my long run is already 10 miles (the half is a 13 mile run), I really only need to work on two things.  Bike miles and overall endurance (brick work).

That gave me a little shot of adrenaline as I thought “you know…?  I might just be able to do this.”.  It’s exciting to think that the hill I have to climb to get to a half Ironman is flatter than it used to be.  Oh, there are still challenges.  I don’t even HAVE a road bike right now so I’ll have to put lots of MTB miles in until the money fairy visits me (or I sell that kidney…), but I’m good with where I’m at.  Now I need a plan.

Oh… and I still need to lose 35lb…

Starting weight on Dec 31: 213 lb

Jan 2 weight: 208lb (don’t get too excited.  Rapid initial weight loss is normal.  Be excited when this happens in late February…)

One Response to What a difference…

  1. Jake Simpson says:

    Congrats on the weight and training! It was almost a year ago that you also helped ME with my swimming. I was terrible in the pool and never swam open water before. So thank you!
    Let me know when you decide on a 70.3, I’d like to try one this year too. Hopefully not in the middle of summer, ok?

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

