Too much?

I was all in for the run this morning.  Got up in time, had everything ready.  No rain, decent temps, not much wind.  I knew the route we were taking today was tough, but I was looking forward to it.  I wanted to run the shorter of the routes since I have a race on Sunday and I was also hoping to get some riding in today as well.  Got to the trailhead first, parked and rested for a minute.  Got out feeling fine and took off as usual.  And felt like crap…

Why?

Is it nutrition?  Old age?  Too much work out goodness this weekend?  What happened?

In retrospect, my lungs were fine.  But my legs were awful.  Very fatigued, sore and weak.  The big hills that I was looking forward to were brutal and I really wanted to just quit, but I slogged through.  I’m sure the reason for the bad run was the increase in activity starting last week.  My fitness level is just not up to that yet so I’m going to be tired for a while.  That and the trail run Sunday morning was longer and harder than I should have gone.

I learned a long time ago that one run doesn’t make a season and it makes no sense to get frustrated by a bad one.  You have to keep it positive and take what you can from each one.  Good or bad.  For instance, my last mile today was still under 8 minutes.  That’s a positive, given how bad the first four were!

This Sunday is the Trizou/Duzou here in town.  I decided to do the duathlon this year.  Maybe it’s a cop out but I really dislike pool swim events.  Waiting in line for hours just to swim 400 yards of mayhem with people who have no idea what they are doing but seem to be trying to do it at the wall at the same time… it’s just no fun.  So I’m going to do the duathlon.  This means my first triathlon won’t be until Kansas City on the 22nd of May.  Seems late but I guess it’s about normal.  Especially since it has been too cold to swim outside yet.  And it’s almost MAY!

I need to start migrating some of my training time away from running.  As much as I love it, I have two other sports to work on and I have to sacrifice time somewhere.  I usually run Tue/Wed/Thur/Sat/Sun.  Geeze.  Just looking at that makes me laugh.  No wonder I suck everywhere else.  Not much time for other sports, eh?  And as much as I love running, especially that Sunday trail run, I have got to give up several of those days unless I can turn them into bricks.

Tuesday, Friday and Sunday will soon be outdoor swims at Finger Lakes.  I will add Monday to that swim list in the pool and make Friday optional.

Realistically I need to bike every day for the rest of my life… but that ain’t gonna happen… so I need to set some days.  I plan on bike commuting (if it ever stops raining…) as many days as I can and doing a long ride on Saturday morning… so let’s see how this looks…

Monday- Morning swim, bike commute

Tuesday- Morning run, evening swim

Wednesday-Morning swim, bike commute with hills on the way home

Thursday- Morning Run, evening bike intervals

Friday- Bike Commute, Evening swim

Saturday- Morning ride (long) with a possible brick

Sunday- Afternoon swim/run brick

I will float days off in the mix as I feel like it or as family/work/weather demand…

Is this too much for someone who is just doing Sprint distance triathlons?

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

