Ma’ Nature Ruins the Groove

A mountain trail in autumn, Provo, Utah, US.

This is what I want...

Slowly getting registered for races as they come open.  (im)Patiently waiting for others.  I can’t decide whether I need to hang out with my running friends more or less because every time I talk to them I come away with another event I want to do…!

The Quivering Quads offroad half marathon has been on and off my list several times now.  I just can’t decide if I want to run that far or not this year.  I think it will all hinge on how the ten miler at Psycho Wyco goes in a couple of weeks.  To say that I am minimally trained for this event would be an understatement.  The trails have been so crappy with all the snow that getting more than 6-7 miles is very difficult.  And even holding an 11 minute mile is tough as well.

With the impending snow storm “of historic proportions” that is predicted to start today and go through Wednesday, getting any more trail time in may be even harder.  I have already come home from work today (it’s 10 am) and will probably not be going in for at least the next couple of days.  Predictions of 10-20 inches of snow, plus ice, sleet and 25-40 mile an hour winds are going to make me appreciate my bike trainer and treadmill…  whether I want to or not…

Looking down the road I’m also wondering how much mountain bike seat time I will be able to get before the XTerra on March 3.  They tend to want to close the trails around here when it is sloppy so even if the snow melts it may be weeks before the trails are rideable.  Looks like my trainer will just have to be enough!

The good news is that I don’t have huge mileage goals to hit.  So I can use this controlled environment to get a feel for speed again.  I’m going to try to get to the indoor track workout this Wednesday but I have my doubts if it will happen.  We are “supposed” to start outdoor track workouts again in mid February, but I’m not sure that will happen either.  The good part about early season races is they give you a head start on the year.  The bad part is real training is a challenge.  Even getting to the pool to swim might be tough for a while… hmm… I need skis…

Here’s hoping it won’t be as bad as they say…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

