Trail Running and an update

Update:  Totally forgot about the spring and fall duathlons in Sedalia.  Good practice and fun little events.  One is in April and the other is in Sept/Oct.

Also, I ran the Runner’s Choice 10/20K (in keeping with my run short/run fun mantra for the year, I chose the 10K).  It was cold and just windy enough going out to piss you off, then the return trip got too hot and I had to bail out of my jacket.  Other than that it was pretty uneventful.  I ran 2:30 slower than I did last year.  A bit disappointing, but not surprising given the fact that I just haven’t been running or training fast for a year now.

Now… Trail running.

In October when I ran our local trail race (Rock Bridge Revenge) and turned three ankles in seven miles (why… yes… I AM just that good…) I suddenly had serious doubts about the whole trail running thing.  Since then I have eased into it with a run every week or so off road.  I am slowly but surely becoming completely hooked on it.  After I slowed down and let my body adjust to the differences in running on a trail (more side to side movement, slightly different foot strike, infinite adjustments to gait and body position) I have been relatively injury free.  Yes, I get the occasional stumble or step on a rock wrong, but the veterans tell me that happens to everyone, including them.  I will also admit that I have turned plenty of ankles on rocks, walnuts and ruts on supposedly clean trails so as a whole it’s not much different for injuries.

Today we ran at Rock Bridge for example.  Seven miles of snow covered trails, over rocks and holes and uneven ground.  Temperature a balmy 19 degrees…  But it was awesome!  Yes, my legs feel beat up and my feet are sore, but that is to be expected.  It’s funny…  I will run off road in conditions that I would be hard pressed to run streets or the MKT in…  Weird.  It’s just more fun (there’s that word again).

I’m signed up for the 10 mile race at PsycoWyco in Kansas so I have to push my mileages up a little in the next couple of weeks.  This may very well be my longest pure run of the year…!  Now, yes…  The adventure race I want to do in April is an 8 hour race so I’m sure I will cover more ground, but for “just a run”, this will probably be it.  I really don’t even WANT to do a half marathon this year.  I may do one anyway… 😉  But still…

It looks like the offroad triathlon in Innsbrook is a go, too.  Just talked to my partner today and he’s in so we just have to get signed up and then borrow a canoe to practice in.  The biggest concern is getting bike miles in.  Not because of any major training issues.  Rather, just simply because of weather.  The main trails we train on around here are closed if the weather is bad so finding dirt/mud to ride on may prove more of a challenge than we thought.

Tomorrow morning?  …the pool.  OHH… I really want to love the whole swimming thing…  But I just don’t.  *sigh*  Maybe this year will be better?

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

