See… I was right.

The pain of last weeks’ 50+ miles of running is still resonating around my body.  My legs still ache and I have developed this pain in the top of my foot that feels very much like tendonitis.  It does not respond to ice and there is no swelling, but it shoots a mild to medium pain around my foot with each step.  Since I don’t want to START the year on the DL, I’m taking it easy on my legs this week.  I can still ride with no pain or problems, so that’s what I’m doing.  The “I was right” in the title refers to saying I needed to stick to shorter distances until I am ultra light in weight.  My body does not like long distances at the weight I’m at.  Last week just proved that again.

I still haven’t signed up at the gym so I’m not back in the pool yet.  I can blame that on a busy work schedule, but I need to get it done.  Probably today or tomorrow.  I might also see if I can find some swim paddles and fins as well.  I need to do lots of drills for strength and technique this spring.

I haven’t pulled the trigger on registering for my first race yet.  I’m still considering options.  I also want to see how this first month of “training” goes.  Just need to re-up my membership to USAT and CMC for now.  I am also going to re-join CTC (our local track club).  Past that…?  Lots of options but nothing firm.

Something did dawn on me last night while on the trainer though.  I am committed to doing only sprint distance races this year in triathlon.  I may do some longer adventure races, etc. but pure triathlons will be sprint only, except for Kirksville which is a bit longer but late in the season (still not a true Olympic distance though).  That being said…  For the first time, I am actually ahead of the training curve.  WAY ahead.

What I mean is, as I look at distances vs. my current base, last year I was way behind.  My longest ride ever was 40 miles, I had never swam more than a mile at once and was averaging one half marathon per year.  Considering I needed to be at these levels (or above) and be able to do them all IN ONE RACE, I was WAY behind.

However, this year my longest race swim will be about .75 mi.  I could swim this now.  My longest ride will be about 30 miles.  I did that last night on the trainer.  My longest run will be about 6 miles  I do that 3-4 times a week.  I don’t need a base!  In fact, I’m OVER base.  Instead of struggling for the first half of the year just to get to a workable base to train from, I can start a race training plan NOW.  I’m not sure what to do!

Actually, that’s not true.  I am building a balanced training plan that emphasizes strength and speed work in the pool, interval and hill training on the bike and speed/hill work on the run.  I will occasionally stretch my mileages out a bit, but weekly mileage totals of 3-4(swim), 100-150(bike) and 20-25(run) are really my MAX.  Last year I was looking at those as INDIVIDUAL WORKOUT totals on some long days.

That’s cool…

And not because I’m not a mileage junky or a type AAA personality.  I admit to being those things.  Yes, I will be jealous when I hear about the crowds heading out on long rides or doing big races.  But I keep going back to that whole “Fun” goal I set.  Short, hard workouts are fun for me.  I love the intensity.  I also love the manageability of a workout routine that lets me go like hell for an hour or so and then I’m done.  I like the total exhaustion of a short, hard workout.  No, they won’t all be that way, but I zone out and lose focus on the really long workouts (short attention span).  I notice that this is also when I get hurt the most.

OK… Time to pick some races!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

