Not a bad dilemma to be in…

So here is the type of exercise dilemma that happens this time of year.  I hate these kinds of decisions because I almost always lose out and end up not doing anything, so I’m hoping I can turn the corner this time and come out on top.

I’m tired from two workouts yesterday.  I’m sore because one of those workouts was a mountain bike in which I spent more time with the bike on top of me than I did on top of the bike.  My balance was terrible and I fell numerous times, for no apparent reason.  I’m bruised and stiff…  but enough about me.

Now, let’s talk weather…  Today is supposed to be (for December) beautiful.  Fifty degrees, light winds, sunshine.  Tomorrow, Ma’ Nature is supposed to take a dump on us.  Rain, wind, falling temps all day, sleet, snow.  The whole enchilada.  Sunday we get more wind (20-30mph with gusts to 40), highs barely in the 20’s.  Doesn’t that sound luverly?

I am “supposed to” run the Cheese and Sauerkraut 10 mile run in the morning.  Current estimates are 35-40 degrees, rain and a 10-15mph wind.  Not ideal conditions.  In fact, my MOST HATED conditions to run in.

So here is the dilemma.  Do I take advantage of what looks to be the last 50 degree day of the year (and probably until March of next year!) and do a trail run at Rock Bridge (in SHORTS!!!) even though my legs are tired…

AND…

…skip the C & S run tomorrow (knowing that Sunday is not an option for running either)…

…OR…

Do I rest today and suck it up and run the C & S tomorrow… regardless of conditions…

…OR…

…do both…  ‘cuz I’m crazy like that…

I guess I’m just afraid that this might be the last good day for a while and I don’t want to miss it, even if I’m tired.  And as much as I would love to see everybody and run tomorrow morning… If it’s raining… homey ain’t goin’.  And I accept all of your slurs and insults as truth.  YOU run 10 miles in a cold, windy rain.  And I will admit you are a better man or woman than I am…  Not that I was ever THAT good a wom…

nevermind…

The bad news is, for all my Cheesy, Sauerkrauty friends, that I am really leaning towards a trail run today.  I just don’t want to let a day like this go so late in the season.  And if it means I’m too tired to run 10 miles tomorrow, that’s OK.  It’s probably for the best anyway.  There will be lots more races, but not many days like today.

One Response to Not a bad dilemma to be in…

  1. Hugh says:

    Come to the C&S tomorrow! Linda won’t be there, and we need someone to sit in a warm, cozy car and enter data into the spreadsheet on a laptop!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

