Just what I needed

All of this mountain biking and offroad running has, unintentionally, done just what it needed for me.  Through all the boo boos and stumbles, it has re-lit my fire.  I WANT to work out now.  This summer I got to a point where “work out” had somehow turned into a four letter word…  It was the classic definition of futility… Doing the exact same thing over and over again but expecting a different result.

I have no visions of dropping everything and running (or riding) off into the woods.  But I needed to be reminded about the whole “exercise is fun” thing.  It got too serious.  I think I put too much pressure on myself after I bought the million dollar bicycle to try to perform at that level, which was stupid.  I got frustrated and almost gave up completely.  Mountain biking and trail running, although I have a goal of eventually running some adventure/Xterra type races, is really pure fun for me.  I can’t go fast, so I don’t try.  Finishing a ride or run upright and not bleeding (OK… a little blood is cool) is the main goal.  And in between, there are those sections I could ride better or run faster.  But nothing humbles you like a trail.  I have fallen for no apparent reason and gone back to areas I rode cleanly and had no idea how I did it.

I think the extra focus you have to have when on the trails is a very helpful mental exercise.  Most ride/runs on the road I would just set my body at a pace and then mentally check out.  You are not allowed to do this on the trail and pay a dear price for inattention.  This type of negative feedback ups your mental game… painfully…!

Although I love the isolation that trails provide, I find I’m a better rider or runner when I go out with a group.  Maybe watching everybody elses’ line helps.  And seeing them clear things I didn’t think were possible gives me confidence that it can be done (even if I can’t do it yet).

In those brief moments between oxygen debt, sheer terror and exhilaration on the trail when my mind does wander, it always goes back to triathlons though so I think that is still my first love.  I need to get back in the pool and get my bike on the trainer.  I also need to plan next year’s schedule as soon as the dates are available.  I need to research some race wheels.  There is a lot to do.  I do know that I want to do at least one off road triathlon and other than that I’m just doing sprint distance next year.  It’s fast, fun and doesn’t take forever to train for.  I think that’s just what I need, too!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

