I need a race

I can feel my motivation slowly sliding away.  Today’s run was a complete waste of time.  So much so that I mentally checked out and ended up veering off course and just wandering through downtown before forcing myself back on track.  Why?  I just wasn’t paying attention.  The run felt like it had no purpose from the start and so I lost all concentration.  My 6.5 miles turned into just a smidge over 8.  I had no desire or interest in running that far.  Now I hurt and I’m fatigued.

I thought about this a lot on the trip down to Springfield today.  I know that for me to stay focused I need to have a race.  Goal pace and all.  So I’m thinking that I might just spend the winter trying to break 22 in a 5K.  These are about the only races available close to home through the winter and they are certainly the only ones on any calendars right now.  There are very few races listed after February so I have no idea what is coming up so the best I can do for now is to make a short term plan to get me through the winter and then keep watching for Spring race dates.  I also think I need a goal race.  A marquee race to shoot for.

I am NOT interested in half ironmans, Ironmans, marathons or ultras.  Thanks, but no.

I would like a spring Xterra, adventure race or something special.  MAYBE an offroad 25K, but nothing longer.  Longer distances hurt.  And not in a good way.  I’m cool with the pain of recovery, but any time I run longer than 15 or ride longer than 50 I have serious recurring pain where I fractured my pelvis.  Shorter races are just as fun and don’t hurt.

So you mileage junkies can back off.  It’s really not even funny.  It HURTS.  For every long race I run I lose a month and a half of being able to do ANYTHING.  I can run a short race a week (or more!).  Why would I want to do anything else?

So I’m looking.  Goofy ones, fun ones, hard ones, crowded ones, small ones… I don’t care.  Just nothing longer than a half marathon, Olympic triathlon or 25k trail race.  I would consider mountain bike races if they have a beginner class or longer organized rides.  If you know of any that you really like, please suggest them.  I would prefer something new or out of the ordinary.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

