Off road and Off to conference

Need a brain break from updating all the presentations I have to do in the next two weeks, so I’m blogging.  Perhaps I should go “outside” instead?  I hear it’s nice there…

I actually had a solid run this morning.  No complaints and I came in at about 7:50 miles.  That means I was in the 7:40s for a few with the 8:30 warm up mile.  I even cracked the lead for about a half mile before everybody got fed up with my fat butt in front of them and dropped me as usual.  Hey… a fella can dream, can’t he?

Listening to the chatter in the pack is always interesting when we are running.  Today it was about trail running since it seems to be that season.  I’m interested to see how I handle this whole “slow down but work just as hard” concept that trail running seems to force a runner to do.  The discussion wandered down to the minutia with discussions on topics so heady as if you carry your water bottle do you carry it on the high side (away from the slope) of a slope so if you fall you will protect it, or do you carry it on the low side (close to the slope) so if you fall you can land on it and save your hand.  Fascinating debate but it’s all moot for me.  I always land on my face anyway…

I want to get out and run trails NOW but don’t feel like I know where I’m going.  It would be nice to run the race route sometime soon (preferably before Sunday) so I can get a feel for it and give me a little confidence.  I may go on my own anyway.  I also have a trail very close to my house I may go run as well.  I’ve been saving this old pair of shoes just for such an occasion…  And, of course, it looks like rain for most of the rest of the week.  Guess I need to get used to that too…  Mud, that is.

I have the rest of this week and then all of next week to train and then I’m in Tan-Tar-A at the lake for a week.  There are some TOUGH hills down there and there is also a horse trail that I may run if I can get out early before the horses wake up.  Then again, I think they might not even be there since it’s the off season.  I’m still trying to figure out how I’m going to pack all my workout crap and my work crap…  My closet is going to be pretty empty.  I’m definitely going to have to do laundry while I’m down there.  So I gotta get that stuff too.

Then there is that little matter of my mountain bike…  I wonder if it will fit on the truck…  Prolly not… *Sigh*

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

