Off Season Wanderings

I decided to take the entire week off last week.  So except for a run on Tuesday and Thursday I gave myself a break.  Of course, I hated it and really wanted to do more, but I needed it.

It gave me time to think and plan for the off season and next year.  I already have a different feeling about next year.  I’m looking forward to short, hard races and doing different things.  I really want to do an offroad triathlon and some adventure stuff as well.

Rock Bridge State Park TrailThis fall I’m going to do more off road stuff and start weightlifting and stretching (TONIGHT!).  I really only have one true goal for next year.  Lose weight.  That’s it.  If I can drop 30 pounds in the next year, I will be able to do all the other things I want to do.  As I look at the garage, I think I finally have my “kit” for triathlons.  It took two years to gather it all and it wasn’t cheap!  But now I can focus on training and races, knowing I have the gear… I just need to work on the motor.  And have fun.

I’m going to take a break from swimming for a while.  I currently don’t have a gym membership so the only swimming I can do is at the lake.  This won’t last much longer and it will be too cool again.  I know I should probably keep swimming but I really need a break from it.  I will come back to it after the first of the year when I get into the masters class at MIZZOU.

Until then, I just wanna go play in the dirt…!  I’m getting a mountain bike this week.  Nothing fancy, just a bike I can take out and beat up and do some light racing on.  The good and bad is the time of year I chose to start looking.  It’s right before the new bikes come out so selection is limited.  Finding a bike in my price range in my size wasn’t easy.  One thing I do know is that fitting on a mountain bike, for me, is critical.  Even more so than on a road bike.  Size, weight, center of gravity, seat height, handlebar reach.  All of it has to be right because you need so much more control and balance on the trails.  The bike I chose, a Kona Blast, had the best ride and feel of all the bikes I rode.  I’m not saying it’s the best bike… Just the best of what was available.  I looked at Cannondale (it sold before I could buy it or I would have gotten it instead), Trek, Specialized, etc.  This bike just felt right.  Hopefully it will be the right choice…!

My introduction to trail running was washed out this weekend so I may look at going out some time this week on my own.  I am going to do a trail race here in Columbia on October 10.  It’s only 7 miles but it should be fun.  I’m not really in shape to do anything more than that anyway.  I’m kind of excited about it.  I need something different.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

