So I use a wetsuit… so?

alright…  Lookit… *sigh*

I’ve been saying all along that my biggest problem with swimming is that my legs sink really badly.  I spent the entire hot summer fighting to get faster… with limited success.  I float *slightly* better, but I’ve had two coaches now look at my stroke and tell me that I just sink…  REALLY?  No $#iT!  How much did I just pay you to tell me that?  These genius comments are akin to going to a doctor with a bad flu and having him look at you and say “Yup!  Yer sick!!”.

So I was at the lake Sunday for the usual “Driftwood does North Shore” thing, but the water/air temperature had cooled off enough that I grabbed my wetsuit… which seems to have gotten smaller over the summer…

…anyway, I crammed my fat arse into it and really tried to focus on the form and power techniques I have learned this summer.  The first thing I noticed was something weird… I could feel air on my feet because they were at the surface for the first time ever.  The second thing I noticed was that the bubbles coming off my hands as they entered the water were now streaming past me because I was actually MOVING through the water.  Finally, I got done with the first lap and I wasn’t tired.

My fastest non wetsuit time for the summer was a miserable 24:11 for 1100 yards.  This lap, with the wetsuit, was 19:30.  Almost 5 minutes difference?  Really?  AND I felt strong enough to head out for another lap?  Really?

Note to self:  Do triathlons in the spring and fall (wetsuit legal races) only (until you get better at swimming).  Spend your summer swimming and having fun.

Look.  I don’t want, nor do I ever to expect to win… Or even podium (unless I do this long enough to outlive all my competition).  What I do want is positives.  Who doesn’t?  I don’t want to get too frustrated with the swim because this has to be fun or I won’t do it.   I know it takes a long time to get better as a swimmer and I’m down with the effort.  I’m also down with using technology to act as a bridge.  Maybe someday I will be as fast (slow?) without a wetsuit as I am with a wetsuit.  Until then, the 5-10 minutes I gain with the suit is a positive.  It’s not like I’m cheating and, at best, it puts me in the middle of the pack.  But it’s much better than being followed by the sag boat.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

