Training on the Road

As much as I try to maintain some semblance of a training schedule when I’m on the road, not every place we go lends itself to anything other than staring out the window wishing I could do something.  Last week we were in a very small town in the heart of Missouri and there was just no place to run that I felt safe.  There wasn’t even a workout room at the hotel so treadmills or stationaries were not an option.  I finally gave up and just chalked it up to a “light week”… which I probably needed anyway, and took what I could get.  The result was a measly 30 miles biking for the week, a mile in the water and about 10 miles running.

This week was another multi-day trip but this time the cities we stayed in were bigger and the hotels were better.  I got in a 5 mile urban run in downtown Springfield and got at least a few miles in on a stationary in Poplar Bluff.  My back was sore (muscle sore) from my open water swim on Sunday so I got in the (tiny) pool and swam mini laps (about 6 strokes a lap!) just to see if I could shake things loose a bit.  It seemed to work and I felt much better yesterday.

This morning I was pretty worried about the run, since I hadn’t done much in over a week.  I started out in the usual spot, just off the lead pack, and warmed up with them.  I played the usual game of “try to hang as long as you can” after the warmup mile and managed to keep contact with the lead group until about mile 3 when some took off and others split to run their own route.  I felt surprisingly good considering what I consider to be a poor physical condition for me at the moment.  I was working with the effort but I wasn’t winded or sore.  My legs didn’t weaken on the hills and when I got close to the end of the run I was able to pick up the pace.  I’m not sore or tired so maybe the lighter weeks did me some good?  I averaged 8:10 for the run and, factoring in the 8:45 warmup mile I was just a smidge under 8 minutes overall.  I was beginning to wonder if I could still run sub 8’s…  I think the cooler temps and lower humidity helped.

Sounds like everyone is pretty scattered this weekend so I will probably just ride alone on my long rides.  My last pool swim with the masters class is tonight so I’m not real sure what to do there.  I may just swim at the lake for the rest of the summer and call it good.  I may get into the masters swim class at Mizzou.  I’m not sure.  I know I need to swim… but haven’t given it much thought past that…

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

