Finally, a complete week

My weekly mileage total this week will be half of what it was last week, but I’m twice as exhausted.  Why?  Mostly because the vast majority of last weeks total was one ride and this week I have managed to actually complete ALL of my scheduled workouts, which means (on average) two workouts a day.  I think I’m finally starting to see a little improvement in fitness as I don’t feel completely shot like I have in weeks past, but I’m still tired.  I have tonight’s ride home, a 10 mile run tomorrow and a 1.2 mile swim/run brick on Sunday I’m done.  I don’t “need” the 10 mile run, but it’s to celebrate a friend’s birthday (Happy Bday Kathy!!!) and it should be fun.  I need fun.

Next week will be light in preparation for Evergreen, then I think I’ve got about a month and a half before my next triathlon in Kirksville.  Unless things change dramatically in the next month or so, this will be my last triathlon of the year.  That’s kind of sad for me.  I would really like to do a couple more (especially Club Nationals), but it’s not in the cards this year.  I wonder if there is an offroad duathlon/triathlon or adventure sort of race this fall…?

Wait… No, Bob…  Focus…!  Evergreen.

Right.  I purchased one of those tent cots to camp in at Evergreen.  I figure it’s my consolation prize for not going to nationals.  It’s pretty cool.  It can be a regular cot or can convert in to a “tent on a cot” so that you don’t need a tent.  It has a rain fly and everything.  I’ve heard good things about them and it should make for a really fun time.  I can keep everything but my tent/cot thingy in the car and just set up pretty much anywhere in an instant.  But if I need a full tent, I can always just use the cot.  I hope it is a cool as I think it will be…!  Camping is something I have always wanted to do as a part of triathlons.  It makes an expensive sport a little less costly and it’s more fun than being in a hotel room alone.  I get enough of that when I travel for work.  The challenge will come in getting food, but I think I can work that out.

Speaking of food…  My continuing issues with muscle cramps are beginning to ruin my groove.  Last night at the end of my set (cut one lap short by lightning… heh!) in the pool, I went to get out and everything below my waist cramped.  My upper body was fine and one would think that if anything was going to cramp, it would be the parts that were actually doing the work.  But, this is me we’re talking about.  I’m a bit nonstandard, I guess.  This is the third time in a week I have had serious problems with cramping.  I’m sure it’s nutrition, I just don’t know what to do about it…  I have been drinking copious amounts of water.  I have cut down on alcohol consumption.  I am eating good things and at the right times.  I am taking supplements on longer workouts (Enduralytes).  Yet, still any extended workout or multi workout day is a good candidate to totally seize up.  I don’t know what to do.  I guess all I can do is keep adjusting my nutrition and hope it works.

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

From Couch Potato To Runner Bean!

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

