To Camp or Not To Camp…

OK… so I really wanna camp at my next triathlon.  It’s in Illinois at a nice campground.  It’s about 20 bucks a night and I think it would really be a fun way to get more into the experience.  I have a day shade and a nice tent but if I got one of these I wouldn’t even need the tent.  I have the power issues for my CPAP worked out and I was happy with the way it worked at the last campout.  I would be right there with all of my stuff and wouldn’t have to get up early.  I could bring cold foods to eat and save more money that way as well.

The only thing stopping me, besides the $200 cot…, is the heat.  If it’s too hot and I can’t sleep, I’m screwed.  Since I can’t see into the future, I won’t know if the weather will cooperate until a few days before the race.  That’s a dangerously thin margin.  I just don’t want to end up screwed out of the campground fee AND not being able to find a hotel room anywhere close.  I’m still trying to decide if it’s too big a risk.

I guess I just want to make this triathlon “experience” as fun as possible and I’m not having a whole lot of fun being in a hotel room by myself.  Even if the A/C IS cold.  It just seems like a waste of money.  Triathlons are already expensive enough as it is.  An extra $100 a night doesn’t help.  Besides, I have to get up too early to make use of the free breakfast anyway.  That cot will pay for itself in two races in hotel fees alone.

I see a lot of our club members camping at events.  Some in tents, some in RV’s.  I wonder what they think about it.  Is it fun?  Is it worth the extra hassle and setup?  What about food?  What about sleep?

My car is cavernous and can carry everything I would need (and more!) even as tiny as it is.  I really think I’m going to try this at Evergreen.  Maybe not in the triathlon tent city to begin with.  Maybe just in a regular space if I can find one close enough to the start area.  I still have a little time to prepare so I’m going to think about it, but I might as well have fun with this… right?

Ok… so I talked myself into it and made the phone call.  $13 a night is too good to pass up!  And 100 yards from the start/finish is easy staggering distance when I’m done.  Now… about that cot…

One Response to To Camp or Not To Camp…

  1. bajagypsy says:

    I’ve struggled with this exact dilemma before also! I am a die-hard tent camper and runner. I have ended up racing but not camping, and camping but not racing. I’ve never been able to make the two work together–whether it be the weather or what have you. Sleep isn’t really an issue since I never sleep well on race night anyway… And then there is the shower issue… Make sure your campground has one and you should have a blast!

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

