What are you running from?

Father Time and Baby New Year from Frolic & Fu...
Image via Wikipedia

I’m not sure what is going on with my running.  I’m not sure if it’s still the heat (even in the mornings) or if it’s carry over from doing a longer event for the first time and I just need to recover.  Whatever the case, I don’t “feel” right on my runs.  I’m weak, fatigued and breathing harder than I should be for the pace I’m running.  My pace is off about 30 seconds a mile.  I seem to be going backwards a bit.  I should be getting stronger and feeling faster with less effort.  Instead I feel tired all the time.

I’m not overtraining.  I’m sure of that.  My current training schedule is riding to work (12 miles each way) on my commuter bike (with panniers + about 15lb of stuff in them) on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  I don’t do any other training on those days.  On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I run early in the morning (5-9 miles) and then swim (2000-2500 yards) in the evening.  Saturday I ride long (with a run brick) and Sunday is an open water swim (with a run or ride brick).  I plan it this way (seven days a week training) because inevitably there is a day or two a week where something (work, kids, weather) comes up and I can’t train.  I usually end up training 5-6 days a week.

Anyway, I keep thinking it’s a combination of the recent heat (and me not adapting well to it) and needing to recover from a longer event (yes, 2 hours and 45 minutes IS a long event).  I really hope this is what it is.  I don’t know what else it could be…

I felt a little better on the run this morning, but still not great.  I averaged 8:19 miles (actually about 8:00 miles if you take out the 9:00 warmup mile), but still felt leg weary and like I was breathing too hard for the speed.  I ran a shorter route than usual, just to try to give my legs a bit of a break.  I really think I ran a bit faster this morning because it was cooler and not so humid.  Maybe I’m just paranoid.  Every run that isn’t faster than the last one makes me wonder if I’m falling apart.  Sad…  I should be looking over my shoulder to see who is catching me… I just hate looking back there and seeing father time… and he’s gaining.

Quick!  Somebody trip him!!  Don’t let him get me!!!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

