Cream Ale batch two recipe

OK.  I’m about to brew a second batch of my cream ale.  Probably this evening, depending on how the day goes.  After letting this batch settle for a week or so in the keg, I started sampling it.  It has its ups and downs.  I love the color and the head on it.  Smooth and creamy, just like I was going for.  But there are two downs that need addressing.  First, there is very little carbonation past the head.  I would prefer a little bit of bubble in the beer too.  I’m thinking I can fix this with a little priming sugar as I put it in the keg this time.  Second, it’s WAY too hoppy.  Unless it is served very cold it has a bitter, hoppy aftertaste almost like an IPA.  Not what I was going for.  So I have adjusted the recipe below (in red).

Total cook time 60 min

Bring 5 gal of water to 170 degrees (does not need to boil to steep the grains)

Add:
1/2lb cara pils, cracked
(steep for 20 min)

Bring to boil

Add:
6lb dme Stir frequently, paying particular attention to just after the boil starts or you will have a foamover!

After 20 minutes, add:
.8 0z Columbus Hops (was 1.0 oz.)
(20 min cook)

After 40 minutes, add:
.25 oz Saaz Hops (was .6 oz.)
(10 min cook)

After 55 minutes, add:
.3 oz Saaz Hops
(was .5 oz.)
(5 min cook)

Cool to under 90 degrees rapidly (ice water bath)

Pitch 1 pkg. Dry Nottingham yeast (stir to dissolve)

Next;

Pour into primary fermenter: (I eliminated the priming sugar from this step)

Primary fermentation 7-10 days at 60-70 degrees

Rack to settling bottle for 2-3 days

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

