Good week

BTW… Should I be offended that the two highest ranking posts on my blog in terms of hits are the one about my new car and the one about Spongebob…?  Clearly, you people don’t care about me…

Ah, well…  No matter.  I babble on incessantly anyway.

Got in a beautiful swim and a ride today.  Yes, it was warm.  But, ya know…?  I’ll take it.  I have no complaints.  The water was warm.  My arms didn’t go numb from the cold.  The bike was warm…  My toes didn’t go numb from the cold.  I’m good.

This week was my biggest mileage week of the year.  Some will snort at the totals, but for all three sports, this was good for me.  I got 27 miles running, 70 riding and 2 swimming.  Yes, I know those are paltry to some.  But I’ve gotta start somewhere.  I don’t look for the run miles to go up much but the swim and bike miles should steadily increase for the next month or so.

I’ve decided to do Tinman in Topeka on June 19th.  Upon further review, Innsbrook is on my anniversary…  hmm…  Celebrate 18 years with the best woman on the planet, who just happens to be my best friend and wife, or do a triathlon and come home stinky and tired…  Sorry people, that is an easy choice.  If it’s not the one you would make…  there is a reason you are single or divorced…

Tinman is the week before and, although it is only two weeks after the half marathon, I should be fine.  I’m really looking at the half marathon as a fun run/training run anyway.  Even if I just cruise along at 8:30 pace, I will PR by several minutes.  But I don’t really care.  I just want to have fun with my friends and enjoy a big run.

Tinman has odd distances.  It’s swim is about right for an olympic distance event at 1000 yards.  But the bike leg is short at 20 miles and the run is a bit long at 6.5 miles.  Again, I don’t really care.  It’s the experience and fun I’m looking forward to.  This will be my first Olympic(ish) distance, so completion is more important than competition.

…ya know… It’s funny.  If you had told me a couple of years ago that I would be “blowing off” a serious (5000+ people and a tough course) half marathon as a training run and looking FORWARD to an olympic distance triathlon, I would have labeled you insane.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

