Just a boring update

The swim last night at the lake was beautiful as usual.  Either the water is warming up or I am just getting used to it because other than a couple of cold spots out in the middle, the swim was comfortable.  I concentrated on lengthening each stroke and getting the most out of each pull.  I had read something earlier in the day about hand entry point being closer to the top of the head and not so far out in front, so I tried that as well.  I swam alone for most of the 1/2 mile lap so it was difficult to judge my speed, but on the way back I was caught by another swimmer.  I tried to match pace with her and, sure enough, the longer and stronger my stroke was, the easier it was for me to pace her and even pull away at the end.  The hand entry point thing is a bit weird, but I guess it works too.  More testing required, though.  My time for this lap was over a minute faster than last time.  I’m still slow, as I swam the .62 mi lap in 20 minutes and 18 seconds.  An average swimmer should do this lap in around 17 minutes.  The good news is that if I double this time, I am still well under the hour to hour and ten minute cutoff time for the swim leg of a half Ironman distance race!

I ran yesterday morning and felt pretty strong.  I covered just over 6.5 miles at about a 7:45 pace.  My breathing felt good and I didn’t get the leg fatigue I was expecting.  Since I usually do some sort of brick when I swim outside, I decided to get some more run miles in this time.  I ran another 3.5 miles after the swim at just under an 8:00 pace.  Felt really good and smooth.  No pain or fatigue.  Not a bad day and, even though I was tired, I didn’t feel overly fatigued.

I took it easy on the ride to work this morning and just enjoyed going to work under my own power.  Beautiful, if a bit chilly, this morning!  Should be an interesting ride home.  Might be pretty wet!

Comments are closed.

ROAD TO A 100

My life and journey to my next 100 mile race.

Tell Me About Running

A Day In My Running Shoes

Run Long Run Strong

A journey towards ultra-marathon completion

Running On Healthy

Living Life Healthy, Fit, and Happy

The 3-3-1 Express Diet Blog

Taking you from Fat to Fit in Record Time

lisacle

An exercise in being radically transparent.

Alina's Scentsy Scents

scentsy scents, an honest opinion about fragrances

boxfitness

Fitness for the modern

Runner Mom

Just a mommy addicted to running

11315 Miles

Run, Walk, Bike...Repeat. Never.Give.Up.

Max Muscles

Build mucles to become strong and hard!

Newfound FITNESS

Happy, Healthy, and Energetic!

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Hemingway Run

Marc Hemingway: On The Road To Berlin Marathon

Single-tracked Mind

Early nights and compression tights; trails and ales.

drinkrunyoga

Running, Mommyhood, and Awesomeness!

Muscle. Mind. Madness.

Just another WordPress.com site

